Samsung 2s to black - semi resolved

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Samsung 2s to black - semi resolved

Hi, this is my first time posting. I hope this is in the right area.

I recently got a faulty samsung 2333swplus monitor that had the dreaded 2s to black issues.

After reading a thread on here, I decided to test my luck and replace the capacitors. I replaced 7 of the 9 'normal' capacitors. Sorry, I'm not too sure of the terminology. Just the cylinder looking ones.

Put it all back together, NOTHING! :'(. Same issue. So i continue reading online and someone suggested to lower the brightness. ... it worked!!

So now I can use the monitor, at a lower brightness. I tried to raise it back to 100% and it still works, however, after about 15 mins. It goes back to black screen again. So I turn it off and on and it works for a while again.

As the issue was not first related to the 7 capacitors I replaced. Would this likely be caused by the 2 remaining caps or something else?? It just so happens the 2 I didn't replace were the biggest and smallest ones on the board.

Re: Samsung 2s to black - semi resolved

Originally posted by Ken-f View Post
    So now I can use the monitor, at a lower brightness. I tried to raise it back to 100% and it still works, however, after about 15 mins. It goes back to black screen again. So I turn it off and on and it works for a while again.
    I have a Benq that exhibits the exact same behaviour. Since I had 2 identical monitors, I found out it was the ccfls or its wiring that were bad. I haven't taken it apart to see if it is the ccfls and/or its wiring.

As the issue was not first related to the 7 capacitors I replaced. Would this likely be caused by the 2 remaining caps or something else?? It just so happens the 2 I didn't replace were the biggest and smallest ones on the board.
    You can try replacing the smallest ones since the biggest one rarely, but not never, fails.