Vizio M550NV Shuts down at startup logo flashes then repeats

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Vizio M550NV Shuts down at startup logo flashes then repeats

I have a M550NV that won't make it past the startup. It was possibly hit by lightening. Logo flashes between Amber and White, then startup logo displays on screen (backlight works), about 1min 30 secs no response from remote or side control knob. I need any help I can get. I have some experience in fixing flat screens. All capacitors look good, no bubbles or leaks. Backlight and Readings on the Power Supply are as follows

18V Standby = 0.00V, On = 18.17V
    18V Standby = 0.00V, On = 18.17V
    GND
    GND

PWM Standby = 0.00V, On = 3.34V
    NC =
    BL_ON Standby = 0.00V, On = 3.33V
    POWER_ON Stanby = 0.00V, On = 3.19V

12V = Standby = 0.00V, On = 11.77V
    GND
    GND
    GND
    GND
    5V Standby = 5.15V, On = 5.15V

Bottom 450V Capacitor Standby = 102.8V, On = 343V
    Top 450V Capacitor Standby = 102.8V, On = 343V
    Attached Files

Re: Vizio M550NV Shuts down at startup logo flashes then repeats

The most common issue on this set appears to be an issue with the EEPROM causing random crashes.
    Please do not PM me with questions! Questions via PM will not be answered. Post on the forums instead!
    For service manual, schematic, boardview (board view), datasheet, cad - use our search.

Comment

That is a classic symptom of a corrupted/failed EEPROM on a Visio. Tom is probably correct.

Comment

I am thinking of investing in a flash programmer (I already built an EEPROM programmer) to fix TVs with these issues. However, I have no idea where these companies selling flash chips at £20 each are getting the firmware files from? If I knew I would offer them for free download! Only ever found one, for a Toshiba...
        Please do not PM me with questions! Questions via PM will not be answered. Post on the forums instead!