Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Emerson LD195EMX shows colors on screen when plugged in

Hi,

I have an Emerson TV Model LD195EMX. When you plug the unit it it shows some text on the screen (shows the text "Digital Television) and then it begins a loop showing a red screen, blue screen, green screen, white screen...........and it just keeps doing this.

I am not a TV repair person......but i have worked on a few LCD monitors but i am not an expert.

Note: Dont know if this is helpful or not but the "on/off" button does not seem to work. WHen i plug unit in it is "already" on and when i try to turn it off with the on/off switch it has no effect.

Note: I found a troubleshooting manual for this unit online but i am not sure how to proceed.......since i cant find my symptoms in the manual.
    http://www.tvrepairtips.org/files/ti..._pdf_12349.pdf

any help will be appreciated.
    Attached Files

Re: Emerson LD195EMX shows colors on screen when plugged in

the first thing i will try is to unplug the off/on panel, there maybe a short on one or more of the buttons.

if that doesn't fix the problem I will look into the firmware

Comment

it seems to do some sort of self test?!
      the changing colors is what my ooold HP L1820 (Acer OEM) LCD Monitor does if there's no signal..

Comment

i disconected the on/off switch panel from the tv...........so the on/off, reset, and other functions that are on that control panel are totally removed from the tv..............i then plugged power to the tv and the same thing happens. No change.

Any other thoughts?

Comment

You're stuck in some kind of service mode. Most likely you have a bad EEPROM, you're going to need to reflash it. Equipment to do that isn't exactly cheap - for a one-off better look if anyone is selling preprogrammed chips.
          Originally posted by PeteS in CA