Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2017, 02:54 PM   #1
Uranium-235
Radioactive
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,836
Default Motherboard or IMC

Wierd customers motherboard, possibly CPU issue. After all the troubleshooting I ended up with this:

If you move the memory to a different slot, it boots. If you turn it off, it dosen't come on, and the system speaker makes a click every few seconds

move it to a different slot, it comes on, turn it off, same thing. Added a stick of my own to the 8gb that it had, comes on. turn off, dosen't come back on. Take my stick out, comes on, I turn it off, it refuses to post, and clicks from the sys speaker every few seconds

so basically, ANY change in memory location, size, stick, and it will boot, till you turn it off, then, no post (powers on, intel fan spins down properly). but no video, no HDD access, have to keep the power button down for it to turn off.

could the cpus integrated memory controller be to blame, or is this motherboard? Its about a year old

gigabyte b85m-ds3h-a, looked it up, could not find anyone else with this issue
__________________
Cap Datasheet Depot: http://www.paullinebarger.net/DS/
^If you have datasheets not listed PM me
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 04:13 PM   #2
cpt.charlie
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
City & State: Torrelavega
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 200
Default Re: Motherboard or IMC

I would consider a bios update and reset just in case.
cpt.charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 09:44 PM   #3
Uranium-235
Radioactive
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,836
Default Re: Motherboard or IMC

well spank my ass and call my charlie, a bios update worked. Thanks!

not sure why this started, it worked fine for a year
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 11:08 PM   #4
ChaosLegionnaire
HC Overclocker
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Motherboard or IMC

check the power supply as always. noisy power supplies esp. on the minor rails can cause flash rom corruption. that seems to be the issue with power supplies nowadays. everything is on the 12v rail and nobody bothers with designing the minor rails to deliver good clean power anymore.
ChaosLegionnaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 02:52 AM   #5
Uranium-235
Radioactive
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,836
Default Re: Motherboard or IMC

It has an EVGA 430w, which has a pfc for whatever that is worth on this thing. CapXon mains and some fair mid-stage caps

the surge protection isn't even complete it has the caps but no MOV (saw on review)

it has good ratings on newegg and other places. Still. If this continues, I'll replace it, hopefully if it does it again the corruption is not to the point I can't flash. Though i'm sure it has a flash recovery like renaming the file modelnumber.xx and burned to a cd or dvd
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2017
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:14 AM.

Did you find this forum helpful?