Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Emachines LCD LE1938 2 seconds to black

Hello all,

I have browsed your forums and seen many posts regarding the "2 seconds to black issue". Mine is quite similar in most aspects and I have a semblance of my "next step". Just wanted to verify with a knowledgeable community before proceeding.

First off, I am not an electrician. I am a satellite technician so I have some limited knowledge of components and circuitry but i deal way more in frequency theory than component level issues. That said I can "fake it till I make it" and get this fixed, I just know it.

My issue is with a Emachines LCD LE1938 monitor. I took it apart to place it in a suitcase for a small project of mine. It worked fine before I moved it, that is key; it is entirely due to my error that it broke.

So I power it on with a input signal from my PS3 using an hdmi to dvi connector. I get what appears to be full power on my 4 back lights (no noticeable dimness) and I see the "eMachines logo" for about a second, after which the screen goes black. A second or so later the screen comes back on and shows the PS3 Home screen for about 2 seconds. At this point the monitor actually shuts down and the amber standby light comes on the power switch. I have tried shining the flashlight into the screen to see if an image is still present and there isn't one.

Steps I have take so far:
    I have replaced 4 capacitors on the board.
    470 microfarad/35V
    220 microfarad/35V
    1000 microfarad/35V
    1000 microfarad/50v

The last one was originally a 680 Microfarad/35V but I couldn't find a replacement locally and tried this.

The four replaced caps weren't noticeably bad, however if you closed your eye and jumped on one foot they did seem to possibly have a very very very slight curvature to their tops, nothing like some bad caps i have seen.

Next step: