Xerox XA7-19i Died

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Xerox XA7-19i Died

My Xerox XA7-19i died after several years without a flicker, even if it never would operate in digital mode with a DVI card. No warning except slight disturbance of the picture earlier in the day. It just went black and since then will operate for a few seconds before going black again.

Go easy because I am not that experienced in electronics and have never looked inside one of these before... The power card looks pretty good - nothing scorched, just a little heat stain in one section. I reflowed connections for most of the old style discrete components - transformers, inductors, power resistors, fuses, capacitors, using 60/40 solder, because some looked a bit as if they might be dry. The electrolytics look perfectly normal and I think they are all marked HEC. It might be imagination, but it stays on for about 15 mins now, but same symptoms - for a few seconds the picture looses sync as though there is interference and then black. I have established after reading other posts that the blue LED stays on and under a strong light the desktop is visible, so looks like a backlight problem.

It still looks to me more like a dry joint than a capacitor problem - or am I dreaming? I think the sync is the processor resetting due to interference. I am not familiar with how the backlight is powered - must be the four connectors with flying leads, but not sure why 8 wires. Any ideas what voltages I should see where or how to troubleshoot this? Which bits of the board power the backlight? Any other ideas. Pictures attached.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Willib; 07-01-2011, 04:27 PM.

Re: Xerox XA7-19i Died

Originally posted by Willib View Post