Defective chip on ribbon cables

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Defective chip on ribbon cables

Need to know if there is damage to this ribbon cable. Ive never seen what a damged on looks like and if these ribbons are repairable.
    Attached Files

Re: Defective chip on ribbon cables

It does look as though the chip has been cooked. If it has been then there's no cost effective repair.
    Willing to help but I'm no expert.

Comment

Sounds good soo what is the first thing i need to do there is a couple of the ribbons that look like this! How do i test them and what would cause this
      Last edited by Lloyd6202; 06-24-2017, 07:42 AM. Reason: Too add

Comment

If it is cooked then I don't think there is anything you can do to save the panel. From the picture it's hard to tell what has happened to them. It could be caused by water ingress if the screen has been wiped down with a too damp a cloth and this tends to affect the circuit boards located at the bottom of the set. If this is a plasma set and these are the boards at the bottom of the set then the chips (COF) can fry if the heatsink is not fitted in place when the set is run.
        Do you have a photo of the complete back of the set showing where this board is.
        What's the tv model number?
        Last edited by dick_barton; 06-24-2017, 08:00 AM.

Comment

So the horizontal lines in the top half are from damaged ribbon chips?? And when tv starts up im left with a square of stic that alternates throug the top hal bouncing back and forth. Im waiting for. Ysus buffer board that will be here monday. How do i test the ribbons to see if anymore are damaged and how do i replace them
          Attached Files

Comment

Ive replaced half of the parts. Ysus and Zsus Along with powersupply..
            Attached Files

Comment

I thought I've seen these pictures before. You have two threads running regarding the same fault which people will find confusing.