Where to put the white wire?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Where to put the white wire?

So my power strip with switches for each outlet just randomly shut off for no apparent reason, so I opened it up and found this:

The neutral wire came loose! I'm not really an expert on circuits (I just replace capacitors because it's obvious), so where should I solder the white wire back on???

Re: Where to put the white wire?

follow the black wire! should be close to where it is soldered on the board!

Comment

I couldn't find any extra holes on the board. lol

Comment

It gets soldered straight on the metal blade

See picture :

Attached Files

Comment

It doesn't reach that far. Also, isn't soldering it directly to the hot wire creating a short?

Comment

The one you pointed out looks like it has the black wire going to it...

Also, where did you find such a strip??

Comment

Oh sorry, that's the solder spot for the black wire. I assumed the round hole in the strip was for the cable, but it's actually for the switch.

So the black wire is soldered directly to the metal band, the green (earth) wire is also connected directly. Either way, it's a lousy strip, kinda unsafe in my eyes.

So the white wire has to go through the switch on that small PCB.

I see both white and black wires going from one side of the switch to the metal blades, and it seems like the black wire from the cable is connected on the other side of the switch.
              So logically and simetrically, the white wire should be soldered on the other side of the white wire on the small pcb with the switch.

I don't see the switch from all angles, just two which don't show if there's a hole behind those MOVs or to their right.

Comment