Thank you to the guys at HEGE supporting Badcaps [ HEGE ] [ HEGE DEX Chart ]

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Are laptops affected by plague? How to identify?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Are laptops affected by plague? How to identify?

I have an HP Pentium 3 laptop bought in early 2006 showing almost all the symptoms of the plague (cursor intermittently freezes or completely locks up, computer won't POST at all, POST keeps rebooting, etc.) Living in Taiwan, I can't find many computer "experts" who have heard of this plague phenomena (which started here) or can even help me identify caps at all on my laptop MoBo. I'm not a computer expert, but I'd like to direct the "experts" here in Taiwan to help me find a solution.

1. Is the plague applicable to laptops? I've Googled and it seems laptops have been affected by the plague as well.

2. What do laptop caps look like? I'm guessing caps on a laptop look entirely different from the PC cylindrical ones I often see online -- perhaps like a little black box?

3. One technician helped me look at the MoBo, but he didn't completely expose the board near the power supply. Will it be necessary to remove all the parts covering the board to identify (bad) caps?

Re: Are laptops affected by plague? How to identify?

the power brick. those get bad caps all the time.

the unit itself, not so much. those are usually small little smd cpas (tantalums and polys)... anything new enought to be a plague canidate is new enough to use smaller and more compact caps. tants can go bad, but it is rare.

is the power brick stock? i would take a multimeter and see what the voltage is doing... for that, analog is best since you have a needle that can be used to analyse ripple. if the needle jumps a lot and for a great distance, then you might have a problem.