Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Samsung Syncmaster T240 - Bad Inverter Transformer?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Samsung Syncmaster T240 - Bad Inverter Transformer?

My monitor has developed the 2 seconds to black fault. I've never tried to fix anything like this before but thought I'd give it a go just for the fun of it rather than pay someone else to do it and you guys make it sound really easy.

I removed the power board from the monitor on from a quick visual inspection all appears well with the capacitors.

Testing the secondary coils on the inverter transformer give reading of 952 and 918. I've read that 3 or 4% variance is enough to suggest a faulty transformer but mine seems to be borderline. Other threads I've read on here show much more dramatic differences in the coils, e.g. 950 and 600.

So I'm wondering:
    1) In a new Inverter Transformer would both coils measure 950 or will there always be a bit of variance?

2) Is the difference in mine enough to suggest a faulty component?

Re: Samsung Syncmaster T240 - Bad Inverter Transformer?

Originally posted by meths View Post
    So I'm wondering:
    1) In a new Inverter Transformer would both coils measure 950 or will there always be a bit of variance?

2) Is the difference in mine enough to suggest a faulty component?
    Close enough for now until you rule out the lamps/wiring.

2 seconds to black can be

a) bad caps
    b) bad ccfls
    c) bad ccfl wiring (especially the return wiring)
    d) bad secondary windings on the inverter transformer

More details starting with post #19 at

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=10419

Also, see budm's Inverter tester using old CFL

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=19987
    --- begin sig file ---