Samsung 940BW won't turn on

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Samsung 940BW won't turn on

A number of months back my Samsung 19" widescreen stopped working after a lightning strike. I haven't had the time to mess with it until now, but I'd really like to get it working again. I'm no expert at component level repair (nor surface mount soldering) and at this point I'd be happy just to narrow the problem down to the controller or the power board. Components on the power board are large enough that I could probably replace them myself, but if the controller is fried, then I'll just have to replace it.

Neither board has any visibly-damaged components, but they never do, do they? The fuse on the power board still has continuity but I can't find one on the controller... maybe I'm not looking hard enough. At least some of the caps on the power board are charging. I'm not reading a voltage between the ground and any other pins on the harness that goes between the 2 boards.

The front control panel connects into the logic board. Is there a way to fool the power board into powering up the inverters and backlights? Pins on the harness between the boards are labeled B-Dim, +13V, GND, +5.1V, A-Dim, and O/F. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated

Decent-sized photos attached, but if you want the REALLY big ones, they're linked below... I figured 4MB each was too big to embed.

http://delturcious.net/samsung/IMG_1044.JPG
    http://delturcious.net/samsung/IMG_1047.JPG
    Attached Files

Re: Samsung 940BW won't turn on

are you getting any voltage (DC) on the main filter cap?
    that's the huge one.
    be careful though, as it holds (or should hold) roughly 1.4 times the line voltage (around 170V DC for 120V and around 320V for 230V countries)

if not, the bridge rectifier (flat black box next to the huge main filter cap) might have failed.