Pencil Tip or Chisel Tip

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pencil Tip or Chisel Tip

Hi, I am currently in in the process of recapping a motherboard.
    To be precise, the motherboard is an MSI 694D Pro Version 1.0.
    I have purchased appropriate capacitors for the job already.

About half a year ago I purchased a cheap soldering station from a market for
    electronics projects (such as this) and also in the future since I am a student
    studying some electronics.
    The soldering station is a Lukey 936A. It is supposed to be ESD safe.
    The official page of the product is on:

http://www.lukey.cn/english/products...p?ProductID=18

This soldering station seems to be an OEM model of many cheap soldering stations available in common electronics stores. This page has all the
    specifications:

http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView...=&SUBCATID=627

Even though it looks different, the specifications are exactly the same and it
    works in the same way and uses the same tips etc. (I think it is the same
    soldering station but with a slightly different soldering iron holder)

Anyway, it comes with a pencil tip. Would it be wise to purchase a chisel
    tip for this soldering station? If I were to buy a chisel tip, should it be a fine
    0.8mm tip or a medium 1.6mm tip or a wide 3.2mm tip?

Keep in mind that I am an electronics amateur and have not done a job of
    this scale before.

I have searched for the answer using the search function on the badcaps
    forums and found nothing on this topic.

Thanks

Re: Pencil Tip or Chisel Tip

1.6 sounds nice
    can you recap easy with the pencil tip, maybe not so if so get the chisel
    capacitor lab yachtmati techmati

Comment

Thanks for the help.

Comment

I highly recomend chisel tip, wit pencil tip i would say it is not going fast if ever.

What sould this unit cost?
        I have considered a similar unit too (as it was cheap) but i found the wattage a little low.