Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Audio Equipment Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2017, 10:28 AM   #1
jondoe
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: A
My Country: UK
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 211
Default Yamaha YSP-300

This yamaha ysp-300 has a fault where by the power will turn off, sometimes it turns back on, sometimes not.

Having read a few things on the tinfoilhat net about potential common bad caps, I thought I'd pop this one open and poke around.

C515 is the common culprit, upon inspection, this is what I found....
Attached Images
File Type: jpg psucap.jpg (747.4 KB, 27 views)
jondoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 12:46 PM   #2
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 28,962
Default Re: Yamaha YSP-300

where is that cap used on the board?
What is the Value as printed on the cap?
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809

Last edited by budm; 03-20-2017 at 12:47 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 01:29 PM   #3
jondoe
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: A
My Country: UK
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 211
Default Re: Yamaha YSP-300

It's cap C515, just above the main fuse on the right hand side next to the AC in, you can make it out if you open the picture up large. I'll get a better picture tomorrow when I'm back in the office
jondoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 02:25 PM   #4
Longbow
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
City & State: Brighton, U.K.
Posts: 565
Default Re: Yamaha YSP-300

What are the markings on the cap? If the cap fails, it won't come back again, so I think you can move on to the next step. An important question is whether the supply itself is intermittant - that would be the least likely fault in my opinion, unless there is a loose connection.
__________________
Is it plugged in?

Last edited by Longbow; 03-20-2017 at 02:29 PM..
Longbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 03:16 PM   #5
jondoe
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: A
My Country: UK
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 211
Default Re: Yamaha YSP-300

It's a 223k 600v cap, sorry, missed that on the last post
jondoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 06:20 PM   #6
Khron
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
City & State: Valkeakoski
My Country: Finland
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 991
Default Re: Yamaha YSP-300

I've revived a Yamaha AVR and an AVR-soundbar-combo, both with that series dropper capacitor "gone".

Swapped it for a good one, and the thing came back to life, no problems. Haven't heard back from the owners either No news is good news...
Khron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 02:22 AM   #7
jondoe
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: A
My Country: UK
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 211
Default Re: Yamaha YSP-300

No news is the best news, Khron

Attached are some further board pictures.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2632.jpg (666.5 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_2631.jpg (926.4 KB, 4 views)
jondoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 06:15 AM   #8
Khron
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
City & State: Valkeakoski
My Country: Finland
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 991
Default Re: Yamaha YSP-300

"223K" = 22 and three zeroes, measured in picofarads, so that's a 22nF, K = 10% tolerance (nowhere near critical though). 630v would be a more "standard" voltage rating - not sure i've seen 600v myself.
Khron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 07:53 AM   #9
jondoe
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: A
My Country: UK
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 211
Default Re: Yamaha YSP-300

That makes the one I removed 0.00499 F, well out of specification. The postman didn't bring me any new caps today, so fingers crossed they come tomorrow
jondoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 12:50 PM   #10
Longbow
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
City & State: Brighton, U.K.
Posts: 565
Default Re: Yamaha YSP-300

Those series dropper caps are a cheap way to drop the input voltage and it makes sense that they fail a lot. Plus, those caps are routinely "d.c. caps" and not safety caps which can take repeated power line spikes and still keep ticking. I hope that is your only failure. Obviously the meter does not agree with the markings on your part.
Longbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 02:57 AM   #11
jondoe
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: A
My Country: UK
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 211
Default Re: Yamaha YSP-300

Dropped in the new cap and partially rebuilt it to test. So far it's powering on and off when told to, now playing some music through the AUX to let her warm up, fingers crossed!
jondoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2017
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:46 AM.

Did you find this forum helpful?