Help!, Customer cut the caps off!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help!, Customer cut the caps off!

I'm ready to tear my hair out, honestly! I had a customer call me about his bad mobo, when he told me that there were a bunch off "little round barrels with
    junk coming out" I gave him the news, with the basics. He asked what could be done and I explained that the bad ones had to come off, and replaced with better, new ones for a start. I shot him a really decent price for an unseen
    board, and he said he would get back to me.....Well this AM he shows up at the shop with his board, and tells me he got it started for me, and omg! He had cut
    every leaking cap off with flush cutters..........I'm fairly new at recapping but I've managed to do a half way decent job on most that I've done. but
    now I'm lost. I told him that there was a good chance that it was beyond my
    ability to fix the mess he made. He's asked me to try if I wanted, cuz he was probably gonna get a new board anyway. So just for practice and future help is there any way to get the damn things out. I have a Hakko 808 desoldering
    gun that does a pretty decent job when the caps are intact. But no matter how much xtra solder I use I cant seem to get enough out of the through hole
    and get the broken pins out any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Re: Help!, Customer cut the caps off!

preheat the board with heatgun.
    use needle to push out lead and clear hole.
    double repair bill for the customer trying and failing!
    i see this on industrial stuff.owner tries to save money by "fixing" it himself.
    fails and brings the abortion in to me.

Comment

I would have thought the problem was what to put back in?
      Is it a well documented board?
      Please upload pictures using attachment function when ask for help on the repair
      http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=39740

Comment