Acer X221W Monitor 2 Seconds to Black

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Acer X221W Monitor 2 Seconds to Black

My Acer X221W monitor will turn on and display the Acer logo, then display "no signal" and turn off. I am new to fixing monitors and circuits but after a little research I think it's called "2 seconds to black".

I opened the monitor up after watching a youtube video and dismantled most of the monitor. I've read that I should be looking for bulging capacitors, but I didn't seem to find anything. I also looked at the power supply and the other board with the monitor input and other input (I'm not sure what this board is called) for any burn markings, but I couldn't find anything obvious.

One thing I did notice is that one piece (which I think is called an integrated circuit) is missing the middle prong out of 3 prongs. Could that explain why the monitor is functioning this way right now? The part that appeared to be broken had "AIC 1084 PM 893I9" written on top of it.

I don't have access to a good camera right now, but I will be able to take pictures of the two boards in the next day or two.

Thanks for your help, it is greatly appreciated.

Re: Acer X221W Monitor 2 Seconds to Black

Originally posted by wtgfs703 View Post
    My Acer X221W monitor will turn on and display the Acer logo, then display "no signal" and turn off. I am new to fixing monitors and circuits but after a little research I think it's called "2 seconds to black".
    "2 seconds to black" can be

a) bad caps
    b) bad inverter transformer
    c) bad ccfl and/or ccfl wiring

All the above (and more) are explained starting with post #13 and #14 at

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=10419

One thing I did notice is that one piece (which I think is called an integrated circuit) is missing the middle prong out of 3 prongs. The part that appeared to be broken had "AIC 1084 PM 893I9" written on top of it.