Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Metalized polyester film capacitor problem

Hi

I am new to all this electronic repair stuff but gotten around to fixing some of lcd monitors and now decided to takle a plasma tv repair

I got around to finding that stan by voltage is at 6.5V instead of 9.5V and every time I touch the testing points with digital multi meter for less then a sec multimiter will spike to 9.4V and goes to steady 6.5V. I traced all components along the line and got around to if I am not wrong "metalized polyester film capacitor" and its saying "470n M 275V" on the top and service manual says its suppose to be 470nF but I measured it with dmm and it shows 360nF.

My question is, are they measured like electrolitic capacitors just put 2 probes to 2 terminals and get the result and does it mean this one is faulty? My dmm can measure up to 50 uF so covers the values needed here.

And is possible for 3 of them to fail on the power filter board (that from different set)?

Thank you in advance for any help.

Re: Metalized polyester film capacitor problem

link, the markings you quoted mean that the part is a 470nF (.47uF), +/-20%, 275V capacitor. That voltage rating strikes me as curious. Is there a "~" after the "275"? If there is, that is probably an X capacitor, which is connected from Line to Neutral of the AC line, and thus unlikely to be your problem. Also, it may be polyester dielectric, but it could also be polypropylene, and impregnated paper parts could look similar.

Getting accurate in-circuit measurements of resistors or capacitors is dubious, even with high-quality handheld DMMs. So I think your measurement basically means that the part is good.

It sounds to me like that standby voltage is not being regulated, or is being current-limited. If there is an opto-coupler, that may be the problem. Look for a low resistance from the standby output to ground. Check to see if the regulator (or output rectifier) is hot.
    PeteS in CA