Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Samsung Syncmaster 931BW - No Power

Hi there,

I'm a little of a novice with this kind of thing but I've been doing a lot of reading here and other sites to get up to speed.

Got this monitor from a friend, no power at all when plugged in, no flashing power button light. Nothing! Opened up the monitor, the power board had 3 bulging caps. Replaced them, tested - no change. Replaced all the other caps (not bulging, with exception of the big 100uf 450v one), retested - no change.

Need some advice on what to check next? I'm not even certain if the power button works? What else should I look at? (I have borrowed a hilix DT-830b multimeter.)

Any advice would be great! Thanks

Re: Samsung Syncmaster 931BW - No Power

Please post some photo of your monitor power and control boards

Did you check any of the fuses that are on the power board
    Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 07-05-2011, 06:31 PM.
    9 PC LCD Monitor
    6 LCD Flat Screen TV
    30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
    10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
    6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
    1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
    25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
    6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
    1 Dell Mother Board
    15 Computer Power Supply
    1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *

These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
    2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
    All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps

Comment

3sam's advice is correct. It's hard to provide advice when you can't see what you are dealing with.

In general, I try 2 quick tests.