Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Samsung 2253BW No power after re-Capping

Hello one and all,

My first post here so please accept my apologies if I make any mistakes, I am somewhat new to the LCD repair scene but was hoping someone could lend some advice - I have read every other thread regarding this board to no avail and even the standard guides.

I recently bought a faulty Samsung 2253BW LCD monitor in the hopes of re-capping and fixing but after replacing the bulged capacitors still no joy:

While i have been writing this post one of the STM8309's failed during probing (Burn mark on top of it now) so i will give the symptoms before and after the failure:

Having tested / replaced where needed all of the electrolytic capacitors with my DMM (AMPROBE AM-220) that should no longer be the issue. When the power is pressed I got a feint buzz from the power board (not sure which component) and the standard blue LED blinking on / off.

The voltages for the 12 pin plug are as follows:

Pin No - Legend value – LED ON voltage (LED OFF Voltage / Comments)
    1. B-DIM – 4.76V (0V)
    2. 13.0V – 14.6 (Fluctuates from 14 – 14.8V, then LED turns off and cycles again)
    3. GND
    4. GND
    5. 5.1V – 5.31V (4.44V)
    6. 5.1V – “
    7. A-DIM – 4.45V (0V)
    8. On/Off 0V (1.59V – Jumps on cycle)
    9. 3.3V – 3.3V (1.5V)
    10. LED – 2.86V (0V)
    11. Key 1 – 1.8v
    12. Key 2 – 0v

The buzzing noise was not a constant tone and would cycle - After the STM8309 failed the LED is now solid, the buzzing is still there but no longer cycles:

Solid LED – Burned STM8309 chip.
    Now:
    1. B-DIM – 0.1v
    2. 13.0V – 16.6v
    3. GND
    4. GND
    5. 5.1V – 5.28v
    6. 5.1V – 5.28v
    7. A-DIM – 0.63v
    8. On/Off – 2.61v
    9. 3.3V – 3.3v
    10. LED – 2.85v
    11. Key 1 – 1.83v
    12. Key 2 –1.83v

I have also tested:
    2x Fuses, 2x 3 pin transistors, Backlit inverters, Diodes and checked for short circuits / cold joints - All seem ok.