Acer x223w first white screen, now no backlight

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Acer x223w first white screen, now no backlight

Yesterday, monitor was in use for a few hours then screen just turned white. I could still see a bit of the video I was playing showing through. Tried unplugging power, plugged back in...same issue. Screen was a messy white and grey.

When I turned it on, it would come on, with blue led "on light" on keyboard, switch to amber with screen going black, then back on with the messy white.

Took monitor apart, disconnected input board, plugged back in a few times, turned on, and screen was completely white as though the backlight was up to maximum intensity. Started checking the voltages, they seemed alright. Turned monitor on again later after combing online for similar issues. Backlight no longer came on, couldn't see anything on screen.

At present I get no voltage readings from inverter side of board.

I am a novice when it comes to the intricacies of component testing, so any advice is appreciated.

Edit: right now when hook everything up, and turn it on, the led goes from amber to blue and stays blue.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by teri3s; 10-10-2011, 04:28 PM.

Re: Acer x223w first white screen, now no backlight

Originally posted by teri3s View Post
    Started checking the voltages, they seemed alright.
    1) Excellent photos. It helps a lot in troubleshooting.

2) On CN801, what are the voltages for all the pins?

3) On the logic board, there is a voltage regulator at U106. What are the voltages for all 3 pins with respect to ground?

4) Check picofuse F802 (yellow fuse near top of board on the inverter side). A good fuse should measure less than 1.0 ohms.
    --- begin sig file ---