Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ASUS 6600GT bad cap

Hi
    I have a pair of asus 6600gt and a cap has gone i was wondering if any one new what it was so i could re cap it i have uploaded a pic of the blown cap and it has the markings in green
    470 ( i think this means 470uf)
    6e
    is it better to replace with polymer caps
    i am quite new to recapping have only recapped a few mainborads and this stumped me

if u need any more information just ask i will try to help best i can
    Attached Files

Re: ASUS 6600GT bad cap

That looks like a polymer. I would say your assessment is correct; 470uF/4V

Like you, I've only been recapping mobo so I don't have any experience on polymers.

I am sure some of the senior members will chime in soon.

Good luck.

Comment

It's not a polymer, it has a vent stamp.
      Polymers can't form gasses and so don't have vent stamps.

The blue-ish/purple-ish one is a polymer.
      No vent [and big enough to have one if it were lytic].

The 470uF 6.3v doesn't -look- bad.
      Why do you think it's bad?
      Mann-Made Global Warming.
      - We should be more concerned about the Intellectual Climate.

-
      Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

- Dr Seuss
      -
      You can teach a man to fish and feed him for life, but if he can't handle sushi you must also teach him to cook.
      -

Comment

thanks for all your help so far
        i think it is bad as there is like a k sort shape rasied up like a bulge in the top of the cap and it has stop working since this hapen
        frist time this happen just sawpped it as i had a pair of asus 6600gts second one died same thing rasied k sort of shape on the same cap
        cheap psu is at fault i hope i am also checking the main borad for bad caps and probs

Comment