Are these bad caps?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Are these bad caps?

Hey guys, just registered. I'm a newbie... oh no!

So, I have this amp (I know you got an audio section, but this post is to identify possibly bad caps, not diagnose the amps problem). There are a number of axiel type caps on the PCB that look possibly bad to me. The ends of the plastic wrappers look like they might be heat damaged, and there are copper colored bits showing around where the terminals go into the body ofthe cap - Is this normal, or is it because they are blown/bloated?

I happen to have a meter that can read capacitance. Can someone tell me how to use it? A pic of the dial is included. The caps in question are 2.2u rated 63v and 22u rated 25v

And finally for my further education, I have read briefly about ESR meters. Being a bit of a geek, I like to have gadgets to play with What would one of these tell me that my current meter won't? I know it has to do with resistance, but I'm wondering if a cap might show as OK on capacitance, but reveal its fault with an EsR meter?

Thanks for any help!
    Attached Files
    Last edited by boinglesnip; 05-21-2012, 12:49 PM.

Re: Are these bad caps?

Whilst you will get help with the query have you tried using the seach facility. There are lots of references advising what an ESR meter will do.
    Have you tried googling your meter make model for instructions?
    Probably wont give any accurate result measuring IN Circuit.
    Power off set meter on 200 uF to measure the 22u and set it on 20uF to measure the
    2.2uF - result should be near to the stated uF value.
    Please upload pictures using attachment function when ask for help on the repair
    http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=39740

Comment

Thank you for the reply selldoor.