Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > Custom Tweaks, Modifications, and Revisions
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2017, 04:35 PM   #1
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Cheyenne, WY
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 4k
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,065
Default Modding a Mac Plus 1Mb

I have a Macintosh Plus 1Mb with CPU/Memory problems not caused by the PSU. Does anyone know how i can run this thing as a display only? Like for a raspberry Pi?
__________________
Stallman was right.....

Ham Radio guys are the pioneers of the "Make it work" solution.

SON-OF-*+%!% TOOL: Any handy tool that you grab and throw while yelling 'SON-OF-A-*+%!%' at the top of your lungs. It is also, most often, the next tool that you will need.

If the flux you have slathered on your workpiece is creating more heat burning away than the torch you are using, then you are soldering correctly.

With how plentiful and cheap storage has become its perplexing as to why we continue to use lossy audio codecs like MPEG....

3:22:40 pm MDT | Friday, February 9, 2029
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 04:44 PM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,460
Default Re: Modding a Mac Plus 1Mb

post a foto of the boards

i think those use 24KHz refresh - so not a very usefull monitor!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 10:12 PM   #3
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Cheyenne, WY
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 4k
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Modding a Mac Plus 1Mb

Here are pictures. The hippy cable is what runs between the logic board and sweep board.

The pins most obvious are the purple one and bottom orange as ground, and top yellow is speaker drive.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 06012010054.jpg (869.8 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg 06012010053.jpg (637.0 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg 06012010036.jpg (674.6 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg 06012010037.jpg (611.6 KB, 6 views)
File Type: png Untitled1.png (22.8 KB, 8 views)

Last edited by goontron; 05-10-2017 at 11:00 PM..
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 11:52 PM   #4
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Cheyenne, WY
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 4k
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Modding a Mac Plus 1Mb

Blue is 5v. It ties to the CMOS/PRAM battery post through a diode.
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 05:43 AM   #5
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,460
Default Re: Modding a Mac Plus 1Mb

foto's of the logic board?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 09:38 AM   #6
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Cheyenne, WY
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 4k
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Modding a Mac Plus 1Mb

Here we go.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 06012010060.jpg (1.13 MB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg 06012010059.jpg (862.9 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg 06012010058.jpg (1.23 MB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg 06012010057.jpg (437.0 KB, 9 views)
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 10:10 AM   #7
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,460
Default Re: Modding a Mac Plus 1Mb

try replacing the ram.
or giving it a damned good clean.

also, replace the electrolytics - they appear to be the only smoothing on the thing!!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 09:56 PM   #8
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Cheyenne, WY
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 4k
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Modding a Mac Plus 1Mb

Well, i cleaned it, and tested the caps. No dice. Just going to send it to scrap.
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2017
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:46 AM.

Did you find this forum helpful?