k8ngm2/ms-7207 v1.0 - Wrong caps?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

k8ngm2/ms-7207 v1.0 - Wrong caps?

I swiped this board from a failed machine at work and kept it around until i start doing more cap replacement. I've had some success but i'm a newbie at it so -
    My board had a few (out of 5) bulging KZG next to the cpu. I'm new to this, so i ordered the closest matching caps i could find at the time. They were identical in size and from what i read on the spec sheets of both caps, they were identical (unless i misread or missed a detail like ripple or something). I replaced all 5 caps with nichicon 3300uf 6.3v. I still was not getting any post or activity video-wise (if i recall correctly, the board was powering on which it was not before) so i did the baking 'trick' (yeah baked the motherboard as a last resort) and now the video is working again. My issue is that it will show the emachine screen, and then shows some vague info and cuts off completely each time. Basically a few seconds after emachine screen posting, it cuts off. My question is did I choose the wrong caps? Nichicon 3300uf 6.3v 105c H0906 is all the info i see on the ones i used (can't remember where i ordered them from). Should i have stuck with replacing with equal KZG caps?

Re: k8ngm2/ms-7207 v1.0 - Wrong caps?

Unless you tell us which series of Nichicon no one can say.

Nichicon <- Brand
    3300uf <- Capacitance
    6.3v <- Volts
    105c <- Temp
    H0906 <- Date Code

That same info probably applies to 20-30 different Nichicon Series' which will all have different ESR and Ripple ratings.
    Only 2 or 3 of them are good replacements for KZG.

Next to CPU is usually in the VRM [Vcore side]
    ESR is a heck of a lot more important there than uF is.

~
    Baking a board with electrolytic caps mounted is probably the worst idea I've heard recently.

~
    Don't worry. - You're just new. - LOL
    Mann-Made Global Warming.