Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Dreambox 500 & 5620 fix for vertical horizontal LNB DiSEqC switch problem (long read)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dreambox 500 & 5620 fix for vertical horizontal LNB DiSEqC switch problem (long read)

I've been using a Dreambox for around 8 years now and it's very nice once you replace the built in software with third party images. (aka firmware)
    The hardware is another matter though...
    The first box I bought; A Dreambox 7000S has worked very well.
    All I've had to mod in it is add some capacitors to fix a YUV problem with the YPbPr video output (Pink line in the picture)

My parents and also a friend of mine own a Dreambox 500S though, I wont give it as high points.
    I have had to replace both their external power bricks when they where only 2 or 3 years old: https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=3917
    In my parents box I have also replaced some tantalum caps around the network controller because Dream Multimedia who builds these things used the wrong capacitance on the original caps through several models of Dreamboxes!

I have had to fix several others Dreamboxes aswell.
    Circa two years ago a friend to me who owns a Dreambox 5620S told me he had changed everything, DiSEqC switch, cables and the dish however the box would still not show channels with Vertical polarization.
    Horizontal worked fine though!
    I had a look through the chassis grille and saw a bulged capacitor...
    I brought it home and there where two bulging Wendell 2200uF 10v capacitors.
    One on the rightmost side of the mainboard next to the PSU, the other on the opposite side right next to the tuner.
    After replacing both these the box worked great again!

A few months later another friends Dreambox failed, same model and same problem. I replaced his Wendell caps with brand new Samxon caps aswell and it too worked fine after this...