Panasonic TC-P60U50 7 blinks, then 8

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Panasonic TC-P60U50 7 blinks, then 8

I have no real experience with TV repair, but some with general hardware service and repair.

I have a 60" Panasonic plasma tv (model TC-P60U50) and the power led started blinking 7 times. After looking up the blink code I tried disconnecting the ribbon and power connectors from the Y sustain board. When reconnecting the power I got 8 blinks instead. From what I've seen on other forums (discussing other model number Panasonic plasmas) this means that both my Y sustain and buffer boards are hosed. I don't mind ordering new ones and swapping them out, but I was wondering if this is actually correct.

Am I on the right track here, or just moving around deck chairs on a sinking ship?

thanks.

Re: Panasonic TC-P60U50 7 blinks, then 8

Originally posted by throwback View Post
    I have no real experience with TV repair, but some with general hardware service and repair.

I have a 60" Panasonic plasma tv (model TC-P60U50) and the power led started blinking 7 times. After looking up the blink code I tried disconnecting the ribbon and power connectors from the Y sustain board. When reconnecting the power I got 8 blinks instead. From what I've seen on other forums (discussing other model number Panasonic plasmas) this means that both my Y sustain and buffer boards are hosed. I don't mind ordering new ones and swapping them out, but I was wondering if this is actually correct.

Am I on the right track here, or just moving around deck chairs on a sinking ship?

thanks.
    doing that just means the A-board is reporting correctly. 8 blink is what you get with sc20 removed.

With 7 blinks I would disconnect the 3 connectors from the SC to the SD/SU. remove the 4 earthing bolts on the sd/su that bolt to the SC.
    On the SC , locate the small 2 pin connector sc50, jumper/short those 2 pins together.