DELL E197Fp blown fuse

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DELL E197Fp blown fuse

I have a Dell E197Fp LCD which has a blown fuse. I replaced it and powered it ON. While powering it up, it showed the DELL Screen display logo but again fuse gets blown (maybe less than 5 seconds after powering it ON.).

I believe there is a short somewhere but I am just a newbie and all I have is a DMM and a solder. Can you help me what to do first? Which part to test first and how to do it.

Please be patient with me. thanks

see sample powersupply board below

Re: DELL E197Fp blown fuse

Show a pic of the actual board you're working on.

Comment

okay when I get home, I will take an actual photo of it. thanks.

Comment

both sides of the board please.

Comment

The 2nd pic shows the replaced fuse also gets blown. original fuse is red in color. but i replace with a glass type with same values. Also it was properly insulated with rubberized electrical tape to avoid shorting. In this pics the insulation for the fuse is already taken out.

the wires below are for the power button board.
          Last edited by rayfloyd170; 06-28-2015, 03:10 PM.

Comment

the bridge rectifier is PEC FL406. i dont know how to test it.. hope you can guide me. i also suspect the bridge rectifier (D850). mostly based on what i read this should be tested first. i am not sure though.

Comment

check for shorts between any of the legs on d850 and q850

and be carefull about your new fuse not touching that metal plate on it's left.

Comment

Originally posted by rayfloyd170 View Post
                the bridge rectifier is PEC FL406. i dont know how to test it.. hope you can guide me. i also suspect the bridge rectifier (D850). mostly based on what i read this should be tested first. i am not sure though.
                Yes it's one of the first things you should check.