Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

lifted the solder pads help!

Hi folks,
    In the process of recapping a Viewsonic vx28wm monitor (same power board as the Hanns G mega thread) i appear to have lifted the solder pads off some parts of the power board.
    My initial thread questioning as to how i would go about fixing it along with initial pics is located here: https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=23342
    I am a self confessed newbie in all of this but did take the time to practice my soldering on a practice board and i thought my recapping on the main board went very well for my first time and all that.
    However when i started in the power board things did not go to well. First cap was fine but then when i was checking the sturdiness of my second cap (wiggling it!) the solder pads popped off at the bottom then when i was uncapping the third cap (yes i uncap recap as i go) i noticed that one of the soldering areas popped up after i removed the existing cap.
    On further reading it appears it could be done to excessive heating ( i have a 60w iron - non controllable), excessive time of contact with the iron tip, old board and of course hamfistedness!
    I believe it was down to my excessive heating, inexperience of soldering and hamfistedness........but whats done is done.
    Can it be fixed is of course my question?
    The trace is intact at the moment, the joints on the second cap are connected well to the soldering pad and the capacitor along with the trace. I have of course stopped any more desoldering as i am obviously doing something wrong.
    So is there an easy fix for this? How would you guys proceed from now on knowing that the possibility of another one popping up is quite high.
    I will post a pic tomorrow in the light of day so you can see the lifted solder pad, indoor light isn't great for these kind of shots.
    Any thoughts welcomed

Re: lifted the solder pads help!