Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HP W2338H Backlight

Hi,
    I have an HP W2338H that when turned on will brighten up for a second, then go to black. Then with a flashlight I can see the monitor status and check cable. I have read around the forums and have had no luck so far in figuring it out. I sliced into the sheath of a pair of the CCFL wires going from the inverter to a CCFL and when it's first turned on, my multimeter reads decent ac voltage for a second and then goes to zero. All of the caps look fine, and as far as I can tell, no cold solder joints etc. I am a complete rookie in all this so bear with me! Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Re: HP W2338H Backlight

Originally posted by NOOBCHEEF View Post
    I have an HP W2338H that when turned on will brighten up for a second, then go to black.
    1) 2 seconds to black can be

a) bad caps
    b) bad inverter transformer
    c) bad ccfl and/or wiring

All are discussed in more detail in posts #13 and #14 at

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=10419
    --- begin sig file ---

If you are new to this forum, we can help a lot more if you please post clear focused pictures (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) of your boards using the manage attachments button so they are hosted here. Information and picture clarity compositions should look like this post.

We respectfully ask that you make some time and effort to read some of the guides available for basic troubleshooting. After you have read through them, then ask clarification questions or report your findings.

Please do not post inline and offsite as they slow down the loading of pages.

--- end sig file ---

Comment

I sliced into the sheath of a pair of the CCFL wires going from the inverter to a CCFL and when it's first turned on, my multimeter reads decent ac voltage for a second and then goes to zero.