Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > Network Design & Troubleshooting
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2017, 04:42 PM   #21
seanc
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,254
Default Re: Draytek Vigor 2960n

You said it's a 2960, it's telling you it's booting 2760 firmware.... wrong firmware?
seanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2017, 07:48 AM   #22
tehmatix
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Portsmouth
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 220Vac / 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Draytek Vigor 2760n

No, it is 2760n. I wrote wrong from beginning. My mistake.
tehmatix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 07:15 AM   #23
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,126
Default Re: Draytek Vigor 2960n

bad flash chip.
its failing to boot because of it and going to recovery mode.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 01:21 PM   #24
tehmatix
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Portsmouth
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 220Vac / 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Draytek Vigor 2960n

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc8adu View Post
bad flash chip.
its failing to boot because of it and going to recovery mode.
I didn't upgrade its firmware. The router is behaving as I said, it reboots continuously. What would you suggest to solve this?
Thank you
tehmatix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 03:29 PM   #25
jondoe
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: A
My Country: UK
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 255
Default Re: Draytek Vigor 2960n

Have you tried booting it via TFTP? You need to put it on a network with a TFTP server on 192.168.1.1, serving up the firmware.

Last edited by jondoe; 02-01-2017 at 03:32 PM..
jondoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 02:13 PM   #26
UHU
Member
 
UHU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
City & State: London
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 240VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30
Default Re: Draytek Vigor 2760n

Quote:
Originally Posted by tehmatix View Post
I already check capacitors on the board. All components it seems to work normal , no overheating. Which tools I need to make firmware upgrade ?
How did you check the capacitors on the board - what test equipment did you use? Did you test the capacitors out of circuit?

Used to have a coupe of Draytek's - overheating? All mine seemed to be hot enough to broil a steak - I am almost suspicious that your Draytek is running cool! But of course it could be running cool because it wont complete booting so no CPU load to generate heat OR a component (capacitor?) has failed and stopped operation of a portion of the router - or the CPU is not supplying enough voltage so the under-volted router is running cool?

How old is your router?
UHU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 05:25 AM   #27
jondoe
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: A
My Country: UK
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 255
Default Re: Draytek Vigor 2960n

Could be 4 or so years old. Drayteks have, for as long as I've seen them in the wild, suffered from power supply problems. If the power supply is suspect it could easily cause a corrupt firmware, but you should be able to recover it.
jondoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 10:12 AM   #28
tehmatix
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Portsmouth
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 220Vac / 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Draytek Vigor 2960n

I solve this problem. The WAN IC is broken with shortcircuit over Vcc+.Now the router is working without WAN ports.Prehaps it was lighting over the ethernet cables. Thank you all for support and ideas.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Vigor2760n bottom.jpg (767.0 KB, 10 views)
tehmatix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2017, 03:35 AM   #29
jondoe
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: A
My Country: UK
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 255
Default Re: Draytek Vigor 2960n

Congrats
jondoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2017
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:20 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?