Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2012, 09:16 PM   #61
Uranium-235
Radioactive
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,377
Default Re: My Latest 8-core Project

new...girl?
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 09:41 PM   #62
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,254
Send a message via ICQ to Topcat Send a message via AIM to Topcat
Default Re: My Latest 8-core Project

^
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Owner & Forum Administrator!!

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 09:46 PM   #63
Uranium-235
Radioactive
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,377
Default Re: My Latest 8-core Project

you said message posted from the new girl

oh you mean new computer. I get it. I don't apply genders to my systems
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 10:58 PM   #64
shovenose
Michael S.
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 1080P
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 4,792
Default Re: My Latest 8-core Project

I experimented with it on the right - I agree it's perfect for widescreens.
However it went back to bottom because I didn't like the way it put the icons in the taskbar
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 10:58 PM   #65
shovenose
Michael S.
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 1080P
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 4,792
Default Re: My Latest 8-core Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
...and for your little parrot (shovenose), I'll stack my measly used little XP system against anything you've got... Up for it?
Challenge accepted. What do you want me to do?

Don't get me wrong - you've got an awesome system there - I'm a bit jealous!
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 09:12 AM   #66
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,254
Send a message via ICQ to Topcat Send a message via AIM to Topcat
Default Re: My Latest 8-core Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by shovenose View Post
Challenge accepted. What do you want me to do?

Don't get me wrong - you've got an awesome system there - I'm a bit jealous!
Last time I did this, it was always sisoft sandra duels, comparing CPU benchmarks.....but that's been a good 8+ years ago... if it wasn't in person, it was posted screen shots. This was a common source of entertainment at any given LANfest. Considering this system was circa 2009 (atleast thats when the CPU's and motherboard were made), it'd be interesting to see where it came in.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 09:17 AM   #67
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
Posts: 2,738
Send a message via ICQ to Per Hansson Send a message via MSN to Per Hansson
Default Re: My Latest 8-core Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium-235 View Post
vista had suck ballish overhead. I've seen 7 run beautifully on quad core systems with 4gb that xp ran slower

I've seen higher processing power taken up because of XP's 2d rendering, which is barely directdraw. explorer is pretty much cpu based rendering. I've seen scrolling web pages have problems when a flash app is up in a browser on XP, but not on 7. Why? cause 7's video is pretty much hardware accelerated. True there is no performance difference between dx9/10/11 with windows gui cause it used dx9 no matter what, but it used some nice d3d rendering to make windows look awesome, but be video accelerated, taking tasks off the cpu

when was the last time you tried 7? have you?
Wow, I did not actually know this.
I do realize that I see this behavior in XP x64 myself...
Don't get me wrong I actually do enjoy Win7 and at work it makes a nice productivity improvement over XP for me...
But at my home computer I never got around to actually using Win7 after the beta stage ended, since I made a clean install of the RTM I've simply been too lazy to install all the apps I need
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 04:56 PM   #68
shovenose
Michael S.
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 1080P
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 4,792
Default Re: My Latest 8-core Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
Last time I did this, it was always sisoft sandra duels, comparing CPU benchmarks.....but that's been a good 8+ years ago... if it wasn't in person, it was posted screen shots. This was a common source of entertainment at any given LANfest. Considering this system was circa 2009 (atleast thats when the CPU's and motherboard were made), it'd be interesting to see where it came in.
Run NovaBench on it, post a screenshot. I'll do the same!
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 05:01 PM   #69
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,254
Send a message via ICQ to Topcat Send a message via AIM to Topcat
Default Re: My Latest 8-core Project

downloading now.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 05:58 PM   #70
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,254
Send a message via ICQ to Topcat Send a message via AIM to Topcat
Default Re: My Latest 8-core Project

Well,not sure how believeable this program is....its saying I have P3's, even after some patch they said it needed.....but here's the result after installing and running without a reboot. I had 2 browser windows up and outlook.

Specs....note what it says the processors are


...and the results...


From what I'm reading about this, the video card is the biggest killer of my overall score....
Attached Images
File Type: jpg specs.jpg (39.9 KB, 95 views)
File Type: jpg results.jpg (60.0 KB, 97 views)
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 06:05 PM   #71
mariushm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,092
Default Re: My Latest 8-core Project

Sounds about right, but it's a flawed benchmark. It gives you more points simply because you have more ram and it looks like its disk benchmark tops at 109 MB/s just to name a few flaws.

here's mine for comparison.

capture_27042012_030311.pngcapture_27042012_030314.png
mariushm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 06:36 PM   #72
shovenose
Michael S.
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 1080P
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 4,792
Default Re: My Latest 8-core Project

I don't really trust NovaBench...
my laptop got 590, my desktop got 754...
I'm going to try this next:
http://www.passmark.com/download/pt_download.htm
OK, the results are in...
MY DESKTOP is the one with the tree background, my laptop is one with the black desktop background...
Attached Images
File Type: png benchmark.png (732.2 KB, 9 views)
File Type: png laptopbenchmark.png (130.5 KB, 8 views)

Last edited by shovenose; 04-26-2012 at 06:50 PM..
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 06:53 PM   #73
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,254
Send a message via ICQ to Topcat Send a message via AIM to Topcat
Default Re: My Latest 8-core Project

^
While not 100% accurate by anymeans, it was a medium we could all kind of compare to. My video card is killing me!! jeez, that thing scored horrible. CPU's and RAM were ranking pretty good. Wish I had trusty old sisoft 2012....the only place I can bootleg a legit pro copy, the download is broken...
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 10:33 PM   #74
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,254
Send a message via ICQ to Topcat Send a message via AIM to Topcat
Default Re: My Latest 8-core Project

Just for grins, here's the benchmarks from my main rig at home:

Specs:


...and the results...


Graphics bit me in the ass again....and my older 73gb raptors aren't looking that great either. DDR3 memory speed sure kicks butt though. The CPU's I want are 6-core, but cost about 1200 each...can't afford/justify that....so the e5520's are it for now.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg specs.jpg (51.4 KB, 43 views)
File Type: jpg results.jpg (66.7 KB, 43 views)
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?