Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > Custom Tweaks, Modifications, and Revisions
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2010, 03:02 PM   #1
shovenose
Michael S.
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 1080P
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 4,885
Talking Shoebox-pc

would using either a 1u psu or atx psu (whichever fits better).
intel mini-itx mobo
512mb ram,
40gb ata 3.5" hdd
slim ide cd drive with adapter to normal ide...
and maybe a fan somwhere even though that may not be neccessary (cel 1.1ghz)
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 03:23 PM   #2
weirdlookinguy
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
City & State: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,611
Default Re: Shoebox-pc

That sounds like a fun project. Maybe build a frame out of balsa wood that fits inside a shoebox?

Computer components, some thin balsa wood, wood glue, maybe some hot glue. It sounds very doable.

The shoebox WILL BE a vans box, right? None of this etnies, DC, or converse shit.
weirdlookinguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 03:40 PM   #3
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: New Albany, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 13,192
Send a message via Yahoo to ratdude747 Send a message via Skype™ to ratdude747
Default Re: Shoebox-pc

i had that idea once... never got around to it...
__________________


(Insert signature here)
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 03:51 PM   #4
AudioCraZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 147
Send a message via ICQ to AudioCraZ
Default Re: Shoebox-pc

Just make sure you have a good metal backplate, and ground it to the power supply. All those metal rings on the motherboard where you put the screws to mount the board down are grounding points.
AudioCraZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 04:01 PM   #5
c_hegge
Super Moderator
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,495
Default Re: Shoebox-pc

Souds similar to something I did here: http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=8275

Only, this will be smaller and have no monitor
__________________
I love putting bad caps and flat batteries in fire and watching them explode!!

No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the coils backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium

Office PC: HP ProLiant ML150 G3, 2x Xeon E5335 2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB Intel 530 SSD, 4x 250GB HDD (2 in RAID 1), 1x 2TB HDD, nVidia 8400GS, Delta DPS-650BB 650W PSU, Windows 7 Pro
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 04:52 PM   #6
shovenose
Michael S.
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 1080P
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 4,885
Default Re: Shoebox-pc

@c_hegge
i read that thats what inspired me

@audriocraz - do i HAVE to do that?

@WLG - itll be a LAKAI SKATE SHOE box and im gonna slap the LAKAI stickers that came with them on the components
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 06:06 PM   #7
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: New Albany, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 13,192
Send a message via Yahoo to ratdude747 Send a message via Skype™ to ratdude747
Default Re: Shoebox-pc

you really should ground them... you do not NEED to, but you SHOULD.
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 07:37 PM   #8
shovenose
Michael S.
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 1080P
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 4,885
Default Re: Shoebox-pc

if its gonna be inside the bow what does it matter? will it catch on fire? what are the risks?
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 07:57 PM   #9
c_hegge
Super Moderator
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,495
Default Re: Shoebox-pc

I didn't ground anything on my briefcase PCs. They work fine. The PSU's case and black wires connect directly to the earth pin on the power point. That grounding should be fine.
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 08:28 PM   #10
shovenose
Michael S.
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 1080P
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 4,885
Default Re: Shoebox-pc

ok. anything else i need to look out for?
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 10:09 PM   #11
crepiduse
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 58
Default Re: Shoebox-pc

Just use a 6" lcd and a cigar box with a 12v motherboard micro atx or pico board.
crepiduse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 04:27 PM   #12
nertia
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Default Re: Shoebox-pc

Hi, been lurking around here for a while...
This is my shoebox PC, Tyan motherboard running pfsense firewall for last 18 months or so, silver tape and a degree of origami were used in its construction.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC01242.jpg (227.8 KB, 73 views)
File Type: jpg DSC01246.jpg (250.4 KB, 79 views)
File Type: jpg DSC01247.jpg (226.5 KB, 74 views)
File Type: jpg DSC01248.jpg (298.2 KB, 88 views)
File Type: jpg DSC01251.jpg (318.2 KB, 78 views)
File Type: jpg DSC01252.jpg (403.4 KB, 71 views)
nertia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 07:41 PM   #13
dood
Deputy dood
 
dood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
City & State: Berwick, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,440
Default Re: Shoebox-pc

Nice job with the gaffer tape and bailing twine!

I'm about to build a PFSense box from a iDeq barebones cube. Board needs recapping first, though.

What are the specs on your shoebox?

Oh, and welcome to the forum!
__________________
Ludicrous gibs!

dood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 09:34 AM   #14
shovenose
Michael S.
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 1080P
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 4,885
Default Re: Shoebox-pc

Oops...mine worked out for a while and worked pretty well...but I took it apart for the move and I needed the psu for something...also tried a toaster oven PC but that didn't work at all...
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 10:13 AM   #15
dood
Deputy dood
 
dood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
City & State: Berwick, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,440
Default Re: Shoebox-pc

Quote:
Originally Posted by shovenose View Post
also tried a toaster oven PC but that didn't work at all...
Problems overheating?
dood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 08:00 PM   #16
delaware74b
Badcaps Veteran
 
delaware74b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Delaware
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 480VAC 60Hz or Less
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 432
Default Re: Shoebox-pc

Quote:
Originally Posted by shovenose View Post
...also tried a toaster oven PC but that didn't work at all...
No worse than one of those Dell or HP Prescott-based SFF mini-ovens
delaware74b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 08:14 PM   #17
shovenose
Michael S.
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 1080P
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 4,885
Default Re: Shoebox-pc

Quote:
Originally Posted by dood View Post
Problems overheating?
No just the shit didn't fit...
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 02:24 PM   #18
NormanSaxon86
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Shapleigh Maine
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 59
Default Re: Shoebox-pc

I always like PC built into Ammo boxes I think that if you want a strong compact case you can't go wrong some are the same size at a shoe box.
My thoughts Make sure you look for a mobo that can be upgraded in to future I would go for a micro atx because they still have the same parts at the full atx just smaller.
NormanSaxon86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 02:25 PM   #19
NormanSaxon86
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Shapleigh Maine
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 59
Default Re: Shoebox-pc

You will need to have good air flow a blow hole and at least 2 fans more if you OC.
NormanSaxon86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 03:10 PM   #20
NormanSaxon86
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Shapleigh Maine
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 59
Default Re: Shoebox-pc

here is a cool idea a safe pc, right you could keep your parts all lock in your computer. In case you think you might get them jacked.
NormanSaxon86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?