Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2012, 09:45 PM   #1
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,381
Default PC crashes/reboots. What can I do?

I decided to build a computer from parts that I have got for free or bought in the past

It would consist of
Pentium 4 3GHZ Hyper-Threading 478
Gigabyte GA-8IPE1000 Pro2 (with dead USB ports so I added a PCI USB2.0 card)
2GB DDR 400MHZ Dual Channel
Asus AH4650 AGP
Hauppauge WinTV HVR1300 PCI

I did a clean install of Windows XP and 7 (dual boot).

The PC was stable until I installed the drivers for HD4650 and the Realtec AC97 soundcard. Since then it freezes randomly, especially when playing video games or videos. But it is also possible to freeze/reboot even when using Windows Explorer in Windows7 (Aero enabled).

I read somewhere online that these cards are not real AGP, but PCI-E with a southbridge onboard that does the conversion. I tried both the official drivers Asus provides for that card (http://support.asus.com/download.asp...sBPAoZ7MObqZTY) and the most recent AMD hotfix for AGP Radeon HD (http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles...AGPHotfix.aspx)

What else can I do to make it run?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (758.0 KB, 31 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (737.9 KB, 24 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (534.5 KB, 23 views)
File Type: jpg 4.jpg (434.0 KB, 31 views)

Last edited by goodpsusearch; 03-22-2012 at 09:52 PM..
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 10:18 PM   #2
dmill89
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Harrisburg, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
Posts: 491
Default Re: PC crashes/reboots. What can I do?

It could certainly be a driver issue, although the PSU could also be suspect if it has never been recapped. I see it is an Antec TruePower 2.0 which means it is a CWT built unit and likely full of Fuhjyyu caps. Having the Video drivers installed could be putting it under enough stress to either cause the voltage to drop or the ripple to go high causing instability and crashes if the caps are failing. Without drivers the video card will only run in VGA mode and thus not draw much power. I would probably at least open the PSU and check the caps for visual failure. There is also a possibility it is a motherboard issue since the usb ports are not working there could be a bad cap, cold solder, chipset issue, etc. that is causing this problem which could also be causing an issue with the AGP port. These are all possibilities, there are probably other possibilities that could be causing this issue as well.
dmill89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 10:29 PM   #3
Uranium-235
Radioactive
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,367
Default Re: PC crashes/reboots. What can I do?

Sometimes you need to completly uninstall your old drivers before installing new ones

FYI: I have the VRM version of that motherboard

also FYI: the my version of that board (which has the big vrm board next to the cpu) also had 3 bad nichis next to the memory

Last edited by Uranium-235; 03-22-2012 at 10:31 PM..
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 11:46 PM   #4
shovenose
wtf m8?
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 1080P
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 4,719
Default Re: PC crashes/reboots. What can I do?

Power supply!
Antec TP = BAD CAPS!
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 12:23 AM   #5
c_hegge
Super Moderator
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,371
Default Re: PC crashes/reboots. What can I do?

^
He's probably already recapped it
__________________
I love putting bad caps and flat batteries in fire and watching them explode!!

No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the coils backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium

Office PC: HP ProLiant ML150 G3, 2x Xeon E5335 2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB Intel 530 SSD, 4x 250GB HDD (2 in RAID 1), 1x 2TB HDD, nVidia 8400GS, Delta DPS-650BB 650W PSU, Windows 7 Pro
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 01:18 AM   #6
Toasty
Badcaps Veteran
 
Toasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
City & State: East Coast, USA
Line Voltage: 220-221
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,016
Send a message via Yahoo to Toasty
Default Re: PC crashes/reboots. What can I do?

Use older ATI Catalyst drivers and see.

AC97 drivers -specific- for that board? Did you get them from Gigabyte. None listed for Win7...

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/pro....aspx?pid=1690

Try the Omega drivers:
http://www.omegadrivers.net/index.ph...-2k&Itemid=65#

Try to use either 12v1 or 12v2 for the card only. e.g., 12v1 for mobo and drives, 12v2 for card. Perhaps causing an imbalance in the supply rails?
__________________
veritas odium parit
Toasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 05:40 AM   #7
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,381
Default Re: PC crashes/reboots. What can I do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmill89 View Post
It could certainly be a driver issue, although the PSU could also be suspect if it has never been recapped. I see it is an Antec TruePower 2.0 which means it is a CWT built unit and likely full of Fuhjyyu caps. Having the Video drivers installed could be putting it under enough stress to either cause the voltage to drop or the ripple to go high causing instability and crashes if the caps are failing. Without drivers the video card will only run in VGA mode and thus not draw much power. I would probably at least open the PSU and check the caps for visual failure. There is also a possibility it is a motherboard issue since the usb ports are not working there could be a bad cap, cold solder, chipset issue, etc. that is causing this problem which could also be causing an issue with the AGP port. These are all possibilities, there are probably other possibilities that could be causing this issue as well.

The power supply has been repaired and recapped.

I disabled the USB controller in the bios and nothing changed.

I also tried disabling the on board AC97 realtec audio.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium-235 View Post
Sometimes you need to completly uninstall your old drivers before installing new ones
done that!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasty View Post
Use older ATI Catalyst drivers and see.

AC97 drivers -specific- for that board? Did you get them from Gigabyte. None listed for Win7...

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/pro....aspx?pid=1690
http://www.realtek.cz/realtek-driver.php?realtek=sound

I selected ALC658 and then Windows 7 and got those:
http://www.realtek.cz/realtek-downlo...LC658&system=5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasty View Post
Try the Omega drivers:
http://www.omegadrivers.net/index.ph...-2k&Itemid=65#

Try to use either 12v1 or 12v2 for the card only. e.g., 12v1 for mobo and drives, 12v2 for card. Perhaps causing an imbalance in the supply rails?
I will try the omega drivers! Thanks!

I will also test the voltages just in case.


edit:

I changed the AGP aperture settings but it kept crashing.

I updated the bios to the latest version.

I loaded the fail safe bios settings.

I disabled the realtec HD audio chip that HD4650 has on board.

I don't know what else I could do

Last edited by goodpsusearch; 03-23-2012 at 05:44 AM..
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:48 AM   #8
Uranium-235
Radioactive
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,367
Default Re: PC crashes/reboots. What can I do?

did you do a memtest/swap out with other memory?

I know you recapped but if you have another PSU you might want to try it, just for shits sake
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 09:18 AM   #9
Toasty
Badcaps Veteran
 
Toasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
City & State: East Coast, USA
Line Voltage: 220-221
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,016
Send a message via Yahoo to Toasty
Default Re: PC crashes/reboots. What can I do?

Humor me and try the AC'97 driver from Gigabyte.

Try another video card perhaps?
Toasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 10:14 AM   #10
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,381
Default Re: PC crashes/reboots. What can I do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium-235 View Post
did you do a memtest/swap out with other memory?
I 've done memtest several times and it passed with no errors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium-235 View Post

I know you recapped but if you have another PSU you might want to try it, just for shits sake
Will do

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasty View Post
Humor me and try the AC'97 driver from Gigabyte.
I tried installing the XP driver in Windows 7 at first and it didn't work well.

I searched the Intel website for the most recent 865 inf drivers but all I found was an autoinstall tool that thinks I have the latest inf drivers installed on both WinXP and 7.

I also tried the omega drivers but...
1) they were available only for WinXP
2) HD4000 series was not supported
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 10:42 AM   #11
Th3_uN1Qu3
On my level
 
Th3_uN1Qu3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,120
Send a message via Yahoo to Th3_uN1Qu3
Default Re: PC crashes/reboots. What can I do?

Omega drivers have halted development due to an unfortunate situation of the developer himself.

The 865 chipset does not need any drivers for Windows 7. The 8IPE1000 is a good board but is prone to failing VRM caps especially with a power hungry CPU. Been there done that, so check and recap if needed. Also do me a favor and run IntelBurnTest to definitely rule out the CPU and RAM. I've had faulty RAM pass memtest before.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteS in CA View Post
Remember that by the time consequences of a short-sighted decision are experienced, the idiot who made the bad decision may have already been promoted or moved on to a better job at another company.
A working TV? How boring!
Th3_uN1Qu3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 04:15 PM   #12
Uranium-235
Radioactive
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,367
Default Re: PC crashes/reboots. What can I do?

I see 3 possible KGZ's on your VRM input, one of those might have gone bad from a power hungry 478 HT (KGZ's have crappy seals and sometimes they go bad without bloating)
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 07:24 PM   #13
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,381
Default Re: PC crashes/reboots. What can I do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Th3_uN1Qu3 View Post
Omega drivers have halted development due to an unfortunate situation of the developer himself.

The 865 chipset does not need any drivers for Windows 7. The 8IPE1000 is a good board but is prone to failing VRM caps especially with a power hungry CPU. Been there done that, so check and recap if needed. Also do me a favor and run IntelBurnTest to definitely rule out the CPU and RAM. I've had faulty RAM pass memtest before.
The VRM 6.3V caps are Rubycon MBZ and none is bulging. The ventilation is almost excelent.



I also tested the voltages with my multimeter and everything was ok.

I tried to touch the metal surface in the center of that kind of sticker on the top of the 4650 and I really burnt my finger
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...4&d=1332474724
Is it normal to get that hot? The rest of the VGA stays really cool even when playing 3D games or 3DMark.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg burntest.jpg (379.3 KB, 15 views)
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 09:09 PM   #14
Uranium-235
Radioactive
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,367
Default Re: PC crashes/reboots. What can I do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by goodpsusearch View Post
The VRM 6.3V caps are Rubycon MBZ and none is bulging. The ventilation is almost excelent.



I also tested the voltages with my multimeter and everything was ok.

I tried to touch the metal surface in the center of that kind of sticker on the top of the 4650 and I really burnt my finger
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...4&d=1332474724
Is it normal to get that hot? The rest of the VGA stays really cool even when playing 3D games or 3DMark.
do you have another video card to narrow this down?

yes I notice the 6.3's are rubycons, but what about the 3 16v's to the left of it?
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 11:08 PM   #15
Th3_uN1Qu3
On my level
 
Th3_uN1Qu3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,120
Send a message via Yahoo to Th3_uN1Qu3
Default Re: PC crashes/reboots. What can I do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by goodpsusearch View Post
I tried to touch the metal surface in the center of that kind of sticker on the top of the 4650 and I really burnt my finger
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...4&d=1332474724
Is it normal to get that hot?
That's the VRM of the card. Yes it's usual to have it run hot, due to that heatsink being insufficient for the job (or rather, the manufacturer having cheaped out on the FETs).

IBT passed but you say you still get reboots... strange. +1 for trying another video card.
Th3_uN1Qu3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 12:59 PM   #16
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,381
Default Re: PC crashes/reboots. What can I do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium-235 View Post
I know you recapped but if you have another PSU you might want to try it, just for shits sake
I haven't tried that yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium-235 View Post

yes I notice the 6.3's are rubycons, but what about the 3 16v's to the left of it?
They are KZG

Quote:
Originally Posted by Th3_uN1Qu3 View Post
That's the VRM of the card. Yes it's usual to have it run hot, due to that heatsink being insufficient for the job (or rather, the manufacturer having cheaped out on the FETs).

IBT passed but you say you still get reboots... strange. +1 for trying another video card.
Before running IntelBurnTest I took out the 4650, cleaned the contacts with alcohol and then reseated it. I also fiddled with the bios, didn't load the fail-safe settings this time, but manually chose the slowest available.

So far I get no freezing/reboots..... Do you think maybe it had to do with bad contacts or some bios tweaking?
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 01:21 PM   #17
Nocta
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Buenos Aires
My Country: Argentina
Line Voltage: 220VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 109
Default Re: PC crashes/reboots. What can I do?

Try with a LiveCD Linux distro and see what happens. If it keeps freezing, then it's a hardware problem.

If the problem is the hardware, then this is what I'd do:

1. Clean the RAM card with a white eraser.
2. Check the airflow of the case. The temperature seems to be cold though(35șC for a videocard is very low. I suggest to measure it with another software like SpeedFan or HWMonitor).
3. Uninstall AC97 & ATI drivers from Safe Mode.

If it keeps freezing/crashing:

4. Disconnect the videoboard and then try again if it freezes/crashes.
5. Unable AC97 from BIOS.
Nocta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 03:19 PM   #18
Th3_uN1Qu3
On my level
 
Th3_uN1Qu3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,120
Send a message via Yahoo to Th3_uN1Qu3
Default Re: PC crashes/reboots. What can I do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by goodpsusearch View Post
I also fiddled with the bios, didn't load the fail-safe settings this time, but manually chose the slowest available.

So far I get no freezing/reboots..... Do you think maybe it had to do with bad contacts or some bios tweaking?
That system would be slow enough at maximum performance, i can't imagine it running on failsafes. Load optimized defaults and start from there.

Also hit CTRL+F1 while in the main BIOS screen to enable the advanced chipset configuration menu. A number of things can be fixed (or broken ) from there.
Th3_uN1Qu3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 04:00 PM   #19
Uranium-235
Radioactive
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,367
Default Re: PC crashes/reboots. What can I do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by goodpsusearch View Post

They are KZG
if all else fails, try to recap those

what caps are next to the AGP slot?

you said bad usb ports, did you disable them in cmos (if possible). Sometimes when board electronics go bad they can cause wierd issues if enabled
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 01:35 PM   #20
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,381
Default Re: PC crashes/reboots. What can I do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nocta View Post
Try with a LiveCD Linux distro and see what happens. If it keeps freezing, then it's a hardware problem.

If the problem is the hardware, then this is what I'd do:

1. Clean the RAM card with a white eraser.
2. Check the airflow of the case. The temperature seems to be cold though(35șC for a videocard is very low. I suggest to measure it with another software like SpeedFan or HWMonitor).
3. Uninstall AC97 & ATI drivers from Safe Mode.

If it keeps freezing/crashing:

4. Disconnect the videoboard and then try again if it freezes/crashes.
5. Unable AC97 from BIOS.
It was 100% hardware or bios related but now it's gone.

Cleaning the contacts and changing some bios settings did the trick.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium-235 View Post

you said bad usb ports, did you disable them in cmos (if possible). Sometimes when board electronics go bad they can cause wierd issues if enabled
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Th3_uN1Qu3 View Post
That system would be slow enough at maximum performance, i can't imagine it running on failsafes. Load optimized defaults and start from there.

Also hit CTRL+F1 while in the main BIOS screen to enable the advanced chipset configuration menu. A number of things can be fixed (or broken ) from there.
I am aware of that! I have a lot of Gigabyte motherboards.

I attach the settings that worked.

Thank you everyone for your help
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_3994.jpg (176.3 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3999.jpg (167.7 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_4000.jpg (167.0 KB, 11 views)
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?