Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Battling the Bad Capacitors > Announcements & Related News
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2012, 07:15 PM   #1
japlytic
Badcaps Veteran
 
japlytic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
City & State: Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 1,488
Exclamation More bad news for those with APs with Wi-Fi Protected Setup

http://www.myce.com/news/researcher-...e-force-56550/ (also has several links)

Should I write an article named "The Dangers Of Wi-Fi Protected Setup"?
__________________
My first choice in quality Japanese electrolytics is Nippon Chemi-Con, which has been in business since 1931... the quality of electronics is dependent on the quality of the electrolytics.
japlytic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 09:29 PM   #2
severach
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: Michigan
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 983
Default Re: More bad news for those with APs with Wi-Fi Protected Setup

I turn off WPS every chance I get. It didn't make connecting to routers any easier. At least 4 hours is better than WEP... for now.
severach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 11:05 PM   #3
Ami Sapphire
Extreme Lurker
 
Ami Sapphire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Detroit, MI
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 177
Default Re: More bad news for those with APs with Wi-Fi Protected Setup

I never use WPS anyway. I thought it was pointless. (To me, anyhow.)

It is on by default on my Linksys WRT54Gv8 router on its original firmware (before I installed DD-WRT on it). I found it annoying and just turned it off after I factory reset the router, which was rare.
__________________
Recovering a BEFSR41 v1 and v2 router from solid red DIAG Light
I have two v2s and one v1.

I am still looking at these boards nearly every day.

What I'm doing: Planning an upgrade of my mining setup from Block Erupters to Red Furys. Though, if the Block Erupters don't sell, I will keep using them for a while.
Ami Sapphire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 09:06 AM   #4
Uranium-235
Radioactive
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,367
Default Re: More bad news for those with APs with Wi-Fi Protected Setup

most people are too stupid to use it, its can be a bit pita imo

I use PFSense, so, the issue is moot for my network

when I setup a customers net I always disable it, it just confuses things
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 10:05 AM   #5
Krankshaft
Super Moderator
 
Krankshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
City & State: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,294
Default Re: More bad news for those with APs with Wi-Fi Protected Setup

I don't even have a new enough wireless router that has it.

I make up my WPA keys myself I don't need an idiot button .
__________________
Elements of the past and the future combining to make something not quite as good as either.

Last edited by Krankshaft; 01-04-2012 at 10:10 AM..
Krankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 07:55 PM   #6
japlytic
Badcaps Veteran
 
japlytic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
City & State: Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 1,488
Default Re: More bad news for those with APs with Wi-Fi Protected Setup

Turning on Enterprise security disables Wi-Fi Protected Setup (a few routers have a inbuilt RADIUS server), but that comes at the expense of certain devices not being able to connect with Enterpise security, particularly media devices.
japlytic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?