Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2010, 12:00 PM   #1
smason
Badcaps Veteran
 
smason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 61Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,589
Default Calibrating my Hakko

My Hakko 936 was being flakey, so I replaced the element/sensor with one from Ebay. Works great now. I was wondering how to properly calibrate it. I read a thread here that said ballpark it based on the melting point of solder.
Sounds reasonable and probably good enough, but I'm usually not satisfied with "good enough"

I was looking into devices that would measure temps that high, and thought about getting a Fluke probe, but decided against it.

Today whilst rummaging in my desk drawer at work, I spotted the temperature probe that came with my el-cheapo "don't care if it gets borrowed stolen or fried" DMM that I use at work. Interesting, the probe has obvious high-temp insulation over the wire. So I thought, hmmm.. what if?
So I fired up my Weller pyropen iron, and tried it. Went up to 400C without self-destructing, then back to fairly accurate room temp afterwards, so I'll be trying calibration tonight.
smason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 11:33 PM   #2
Krankshaft
Super Moderator
 
Krankshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
City & State: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,294
Default Re: Calibrating my Hakko

First off a Chinamart heating element is most likely a wire wound resistor OEM Hakko elements are printed ceramic which are much easier to regulate.

Hakko makes a special tool for tip calibration. It's called the Hakko FG100-01 and has replacement elements.

If the temp probe you have doesn't melt then the next thing to ask would be what it's accuracy is the Hakko instrument I have is accurate to + or - 1 C.
__________________
Elements of the past and the future combining to make something not quite as good as either.
Krankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 08:27 AM   #3
smason
Badcaps Veteran
 
smason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 61Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,589
Default Re: Calibrating my Hakko

The replacement element was a genuine Hakko part, in a Hakko package from what appears to be a reputable shop in MO. Looks, feels and smells like the one I removed.

I doubt the temp probe is hugely accurate, but having ballparked the calibration, I checked it at 300c and the probe read 302, so close enough for me.
smason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?