Badcaps Forums

Badcaps Forums (http://www.badcaps.net/forum/index.php)
-   Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources (http://www.badcaps.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV (http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=9738)

acidophilus 05-16-2010 08:54 PM

fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
Hey, I have recently aquired a Fujitsu pds4222w-s plasmavision plasma TV that doesnt work. It turns on, and the screen flashes white, and then it shuts off.

I was wondering if anyone has ever worked on these or has any idea how to trouble shoot it. Thanks.

acidophilus 05-16-2010 10:01 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
Oh yeah, and none of the caps look blown.

acidophilus 05-17-2010 12:18 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
another tidbit of information; The screen flashes, and the unit powers up, for a few seconds, and the green LED is on, and then it turns off and it starts blinking red. I have never worked on a plasma before, but the power seems to go through a few different boards.

PlainBill 05-17-2010 01:57 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by acidophilus
another tidbit of information; The screen flashes, and the unit powers up, for a few seconds, and the green LED is on, and then it turns off and it starts blinking red. I have never worked on a plasma before, but the power seems to go through a few different boards.

I've checked for a service manual and haven't found any available from any place I trust. It sounds like the small signal board has detected a fault. Does the red led blink in any sort of a pattern?

Post some pictures. Also, look for labels on the plasma panel that give a clue who made it.

Most of the plasma power supplies I have seen have the power supply outputs labeled. If this one does, check to see if all the supplies are coming up.

PlainBill

acidophilus 05-17-2010 03:13 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3307/...07a8d599_o.jpg

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4009/...8deb0530_o.jpg
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3608/...3ffbfcd0_o.jpg
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3336/...fe3b1ee3_o.jpg
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3307/...07a8d599_o.jpg

acidophilus 05-17-2010 03:25 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
Quote:


Most of the plasma power supplies I have seen have the power supply outputs labeled. If this one does, check to see if all the supplies are coming up.

Forgive my lack of experience, but how should I go about checking this?

acidophilus 05-17-2010 03:28 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PlainBill
Does the red led blink in any sort of a pattern?


No, it blinks continuously until I take the power off.

acidophilus 05-17-2010 04:08 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
I found this service bulletin

http://myweb.csuchico.edu/~wreeder/Fujitsu Service Bulletin PDP-0068-01.pdf

but there is no IC socket on the main power board, but there is one on the input board.

PlainBill 05-17-2010 04:35 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by acidophilus
Forgive my lack of experience, but how should I go about checking this?

I see two ways. The best is to give it to someone with electronics experience.

A poorer approach would be to use a DMM. This might result in electrocution. :eek:

PlainBill

Scenic 05-17-2010 04:40 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
is it just me or do the big-ass filter caps (2nd pic, pretty much in the middle, 4th pic the ones on the right) look like they are swollen below the top plastic cap..?

as for the power supply connectors..
4th pic.. the connectors in the top right.
looks like they're labeled (just like plainbill said)

acidophilus 05-17-2010 04:55 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scenic
is it just me or do the big-ass filter caps (2nd pic, pretty much in the middle, 4th pic the ones on the right) look like they are swollen below the top plastic cap..?

I think that might be an artifact of the picture, there is no real obvious swell in person.

Quote:


as for the power supply connectors..
4th pic.. the connectors in the top right.
looks like they're labeled (just like plainbill said)
Ok, they are labeled. Most of them are ground (GND, I am assuming). as well as VS, VA and VE.

acidophilus 05-17-2010 06:32 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4023/...08d32bf5_o.jpg


I found these on the IC board. the one with the purple on the top seems to be a little swollen.

acidophilus 05-17-2010 08:13 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PlainBill
I see two ways. The best is to give it to someone with electronics experience.

A poorer approach would be to use a DMM. This might result in electrocution. :eek:

PlainBill

I have tested electronics before, and completed a physics course on circuits and what not. I only have an analog multimeter, but it should work. I'm willing to try.

Though my knowledge is limited, I'm trying to learn.

PlainBill 05-17-2010 08:31 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by acidophilus
I have tested electronics before, and completed a physics course on circuits and what not. I only have an analog multimeter, but it should work. I'm willing to try.

Though my knowledge is limited, I'm trying to learn.

I suspect this is a lost cause unless someone else is willing to assist you. A few months back I attempted to assist someone else with a plasma TV. Somehow he never seemed to be able to supply the information I requested.

If you REALLY want my help, go reread post 4 in this thread, including the link in my signature.

PlainBill

acidophilus 05-17-2010 08:45 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
6 Attachment(s)
Ok, I uploaded the pictures again.

acidophilus 05-17-2010 09:20 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
The boards are made by Fujitsu Hitachi.

weirdlookinguy 05-17-2010 09:55 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PlainBill
I suspect this is a lost cause unless someone else is willing to assist you. A few months back I attempted to assist someone else with a plasma TV. Somehow he never seemed to be able to supply the information I requested.

If you REALLY want my help, go reread post 4 in this thread, including the link in my signature.

PlainBill

This guy can form coherent sentences and provide clear, adequate pictures. Give him a chance.

acidophilus, you won't be able to test much in the way of caps using a standard DMM. You need an ESR meter for that one. Some DMMs can measure capacitance, but ESR is a much better tell of whether a cap is good or not.

acidophilus 05-17-2010 09:56 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
Ok, The outputs are labeled as such:

VCC1
GND VCC1
VE
GND VE
GND VS
GND VS
VA
GND VA
VS
VS


Using a multimeter I was planning on testing each one of these for voltage. How much voltage should I be expecting coming through these? (I was going to test 250V AC)

acidophilus 05-17-2010 10:00 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by weirdlookinguy
This guy can form coherent sentences and provide clear, adequate pictures. Give him a chance.

acidophilus, you won't be able to test much in the way of caps using a standard DMM. You need an ESR meter for that one. Some DMMs can measure capacitance, but ESR is a much better tell of whether a cap is good or not.

I am aware of this, though I was hoping to be able to narrow down the problem to a specific board. I was under the impression that by testing voltage output from the board it would let me know where the problem was, or at least lead me in the right direction. I am doing this for fun and to learn.

Thanks for any help.

tmwalsh 05-18-2010 09:25 AM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
Milkman, the boards generally produce DC voltages. There is one output that will likely be an AC output, the one that drives the plasma display itself.
I would set my meter to DC, highest setting, turn on the unit, and measure from specified ground, i.e. GND VE, to the pin labeled VE, and so on. Most sets will produce voltages in the ranges of 5,12, and some in the less than 50VDC range. Most sets will have a 'standby' voltage produced to operate the remote control receiver circuit, and used to 'turn on' the rest of the set.
That means that there should likely be a 5v standby voltage, and then 'run' voltages in the 5, 12, and so on. When you press the on button, or use the remote, there would be a change in one of the voltages 'in' to the power supply, from 0 -> 5 or 5->0 signaling the set to turn on.
Using an analog VM works, as long as the ohms internally are high. I don't remember the numbers, but you can 'drag down' a circuit if the meter draws too much current while it is measuring. I have in mind "10,000 ohms/volt" or words to that effect.
The ESR meters mentioned allow for measurement of the equivalent resistance that a capacitor emulates(?) while in use. When caps get old/dried out, the resistance goes up and messes with the circuit, leading to failure. You have to remove the caps from the board/circuit to test the ESR, or at least lift one leg of the cap[hard to do].
tom

cadiman 06-01-2010 07:13 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
This is an uphill battle for a first plasma tv troubleshoot. I have one of these in the back room with a broken panel. Since the screen flashes white then shuts down it is most likely in your power supply. The older fujitsus made for sony would do the same thing then flash 6 times ( bad pdp) I never looked any further because the tv was too old and had too many boards inside. A dmm is very cheap these days and alot safer for electronics. Good luck!

acidophilus 06-01-2010 10:09 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cadiman
This is an uphill battle for a first plasma tv troubleshoot. I have one of these in the back room with a broken panel. Since the screen flashes white then shuts down it is most likely in your power supply. The older fujitsus made for sony would do the same thing then flash 6 times ( bad pdp) I never looked any further because the tv was too old and had too many boards inside. A dmm is very cheap these days and alot safer for electronics. Good luck!


Thanks, I actually picked a DMM up that can measure capacitance. I have to replace a fuel filter on my truck then I should be able to get back to the TV. I will update with my progress!

MANUEL75 01-13-2014 12:01 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by acidophilus (Post 105623)
Hey, I have recently aquired a Fujitsu pds4222w-s plasmavision plasma TV that doesnt work. It turns on, and the screen flashes white, and then it shuts off.

I was wondering if anyone has ever worked on these or has any idea how to trouble shoot it. Thanks.

I just got the same tv. My problem is as follows. upon plugging in and the on switch turn on, the red light is on. 5 volts are created immediately for remote, thermo sensor board, and probably anything else that uses the 5 volts. When I turn the on button at the center of the tv panel, the green light momentarily tuns on and I hear a click turning the AC/DC relay on switching the power off. The AC can still be measured coming through the noise suppression coils that shelter the Power supply from noise or interference. The Red light turn on and off until you turn power off on tv.
I have taken some measurements. I though that it was the "thermo-sensor" board. However I checked it by itself and it works fine. It is very simple.

I believe that the relay on the AC/DC board is tripped and comes off thus cutting off AC. There has to be a way to keep the relay energized at least to trouble shoot the cause of the problem(relay being energized or off to prevent AC from coming to the board. I am working on that problem. However, I do not have schematics for that board. Is there anybody there that has a schematic of this AC/DC board? if not do you know a source to obtain this schematics. Fujitsu probably has a workstation to test these board prior to mounting them on the TV assembly line and have the specifications. I doubt that they will provide them to us for any price.
I am an electronics engineer (MSEE) and worked in aircraft electronics far more complex than a TV.

MANUEL75 01-13-2014 12:07 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
I just got the same tv. My problem is as follows. upon plugging in and the on switch turn on, the red light is on. 5 volts are created immediately for remote, thermo-sensor board, and probably anything else that uses the 5 volts. When I turn the on button at the center of the tv panel, the green light momentarily tuns on and I hear a click turning the AC/DC relay on switching the power off. The AC can still be measured coming through the noise suppression coils that shelter the Power supply from noise or interference. The Red light turn on and off until you turn power off on TV.
I have taken some measurements. I though that it was the "thermo-sensor" board. However I checked it by itself and it works fine. It is very simple.

I believe that the relay on the AC/DC board is tripped and comes off thus cutting off AC. There has to be a way to keep the relay energized at least to trouble shoot the cause of the problem(relay being energized or off to prevent AC from coming to the board). I am working on that problem. However, I do not have schematics for that board. Is there anybody there that has a schematic of this AC/DC board? if not do you know a source to obtain this schematics. Fujitsu probably has a workstation to test these board prior to mounting them on the TV assembly line and have the specifications. I doubt that they will provide them to us for any price.
I am an electronics engineer (MSEE) and worked in aircraft electronics far more complex than a TV.

MANUEL75 01-13-2014 12:47 PM

Re: fujitsu pds4222w-s Plasmavision TV
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by acidophilus (Post 105623)
Hey, I have recently aquired a Fujitsu pds4222w-s plasmavision plasma TV that doesnt work. It turns on, and the screen flashes white, and then it shuts off.

I was wondering if anyone has ever worked on these or has any idea how to trouble shoot it. Thanks.

I have the service manual for the tv. I can email you some of the useful pages to trouble shoot the problem by using the blinking light. My email is calaw@surewest.net. I am an electronics engineer (MSEE)


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.