Badcaps Forums

Badcaps Forums (http://www.badcaps.net/forum/index.php)
-   Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources (http://www.badcaps.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8 (http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=13573)

waitery 02-28-2011 04:34 PM

Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
3 Attachment(s)
Hi all,

I am having a problem with my Poloroid TDA - 03211C with Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8. I get a red led on the front, but it doesn't power on. Upon taking off the back to get voltages, I noticed that the caps at EC17 and EC 18 were blown. I ordered new caps from Digakey and also order new FET's at Q16 and Q17 and replaced all of them. I replaced the filter cap too with a new high temp Panasonic. After getting everythig back together, here are the voltages that I have from the pins....just nothing is powering on:

STB= 4.83
5STB= 5.13
5V=5.13
12V=11.78
20V= 23.98v

Also, the filter cap, when the main board and inverter is attached to the power board, it swells to 400V and holds steady on the reading. When I disconnect everything except the power, the filter caps is steady at 167volts. I have attached some pics. Any ideas or questions to help me along would be welcome!!

waitery 02-28-2011 04:40 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
I forgot to add, the fuses are good on the power board as well.

retiredcaps 02-28-2011 05:47 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by waitery (Post 153164)
After getting everythig back together, here are the voltages that I have from the pins....just nothing is powering on:

STB= 4.83
5STB= 5.13
5V=5.13
12V=11.78
20V= 23.98v

Also, the filter cap, when the main board and inverter is attached to the power board, it swells to 400V and holds steady on the reading. When I disconnect everything except the power, the filter caps is steady at 167volts.

All your voltages look good. Is the standby light on?

The 400V is due to the Power Factor Correction. I'm not an expert on this and still learning this portion, but I believe 400V DC is a correct reading. 167V DC is right for the big main cap when power is off, but not disconnected from the mains.

cadillacman 02-28-2011 06:28 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
Hey make sure its not workingbut with no backlight. If you use a flashlight you can see if the lcd is working...

the only reason i say that is that i ran into a polaroid recently that had bad ccfls, it would powrer on then appear to lose video.. but was not losing video, was just losing the backlight.

waitery 02-28-2011 06:32 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
Yes, the standby light is lit on the front. It is glowing red, but when I push the button, it doesn't turn on. No backlights, no relay hiccups, no nothing. There is also a red led on the power board located in the lower left corner that isn't illuminated. You can see it in my attached pics.

waitery 02-28-2011 06:35 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
Forgot to add this in the post, but I am wondering if the board isn't hitting a threshold voltage, i.e. above 5 volts and above 12 volts, therefore it is sensing that it is under and shutting down. Any thoughts on that?

PlainBill 02-28-2011 07:18 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by waitery (Post 153164)
Hi all,

I am having a problem with my Poloroid TDA - 03211C with Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8. I get a red led on the front, but it doesn't power on. Upon taking off the back to get voltages, I noticed that the caps at EC17 and EC 18 were blown. I ordered new caps from Digakey and also order new FET's at Q16 and Q17 and replaced all of them. I replaced the filter cap too with a new high temp Panasonic. After getting everythig back together, here are the voltages that I have from the pins....just nothing is powering on:

STB= 4.83
5STB= 5.13
5V=5.13
12V=11.78
20V= 23.98v

Also, the filter cap, when the main board and inverter is attached to the power board, it swells to 400V and holds steady on the reading. When I disconnect everything except the power, the filter caps is steady at 167volts. I have attached some pics. Any ideas or questions to help me along would be welcome!!

It's working. All of the readings you report show the power supply is working, the PFC is functioning properly, and the outputs are reasonable.

It's time to look at the main board. There are no relays on this power supply to make noise. I'm not sure about the LED, there is no indication of what it indicates.

PlainBill

waitery 02-28-2011 07:21 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
I just bought a main board and installed it today. After the install, it has the same issue as the one I removed.

waitery 02-28-2011 09:04 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
Does anyone have any other experiences or insights that they can share on this one? It seems strange that with two different main boards that I am having the same symptoms. :feedback:

hijodalgo 02-28-2011 09:16 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
does the red light changes to blue when you press power? if not,there could be a main board problem,but you said that you've changed.It's the same number?I,have found problems in the audio output,and that causes the tv to shutdown.. you can check this ---->http://blog.coppelltvrepair.com/sear...max-results=28
Hope this help..

waitery 02-28-2011 09:26 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
No, it always stays red. I try the I/0 main control and also the remote and no dice....it will not go blue. It was a used main board that I purchased online, but it has a 30 day warranty, so I will be sending it back. Thanks for the link, I will check it out.

ryankam 04-11-2011 01:59 AM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
I have the same TV with the same issue. These TV's are notorious for bad main boards (not power supply, but tuner board). Ordering these from Shopjimmy.com or discountmerchant.com can be frustrating because they say they test the boards that they can but how do they test. Shopjimmy has over 100 test tv's but there are 1000's of boards so not all get tested. And they usually get these from cracked screen units. So it is a tough gamble guying from these tear down distributors. You will think you have a problem solved, get a "new" part and that "new" part as the same issue, so you buy a million other parts and it turns out it was just a faulty main board the first time and the time you ordered a "new" one. so spend the extra $$. Verify the tv works with a "good" part. If so order a cheaper one and send back expensive one. Just so you are 100% sure of the problem.

Dgtech 04-11-2011 03:32 AM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
I had one of these and all I found the problem to be in my case was a diode. Here is my post.

http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=12886

It beat buying a new board at about $80. The diode was only $3.

nfiniti9 05-14-2011 01:11 AM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
I have one of these tv's with the same issues. The previous owner tried replacing the caps but it did not fix it. I found the F2 fuse was bad. Does it matter if I replace it with a 5x20 (radio shack) and add my own pigtails? I am going to replace the transistors and plan on ordering the correct fuse as well but would like to get it going to make sure it works before I do. So would those larger fuses cause any issues? They are 3.15A 250v slow-blow. A veteran mentioned they were time-delay which i believe is the same?

Dgtech 05-14-2011 04:15 AM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
The larger fuses (in size) should not cause any problem. I would not change the amperage any though. I'd put in a fast blow with the same amperage fuse. I dont recall what the amperage was on the original fuse though. I do remember this fuse is in the center of the board near a transformer. It's not too crowded there. It can be done with caution.

What was wrong with the transistor that you're changing? Which one is it?

nfiniti9 05-14-2011 08:31 AM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
Nothing is wrong but they are 1.20 a piece so why not change them since they are known to be an issue on these psu. The fuse are the same amps, voltage and delay just bigger. There is definitely room in there.

nfiniti9 05-14-2011 10:08 AM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
Works great. Thanks for the help.

Dgtech 05-14-2011 10:39 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
I have one of these sets now.

Here's what I had originally:

Unit was not comming out of standby at all. No backlights.

Found bad caps for backlight circuit (2 X 10uF @ 450V) replaced with Rubycons.

Checked all remaining caps on secondary of power supply, all within tolerance. Changed a few that were a little low for my liking.

Here's what I got now:
Unit now powers up but goes out right away until unit is warmed up, then it will stay on for a while. I got the unit on right now and I'll leave it on overnight. I hope it will die completely so I can find the problem easier.

Standby voltage = 5vdc both when backlight is on as well as off - so it's not going into standby. Even the stanby LED does not change when unit backlights fail.

I checked solder joints on the transformers that feed the backlights.

I havent used the flashlight to check image yet only because - i got to find my damn flashlight... moving sucks!!!

I will post more info tomorrow as well as pictures.

Dgtech 05-15-2011 08:50 AM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
Well, I left this unit on all night long and it stayed on. I shut it down and now it wont start back up at all. This is good. This is what I wanted. It wasn't broke enough before.



Quote:

Originally Posted by waitery (Post 153164)

STB= 4.83
5STB= 5.13
5V=5.13
12V=11.78
20V= 23.98v

In comparison to the poster above, my voltage read:

.................. OFF ...........................ON (FAILED STATE-NO BACKLIGHTS)
STB .............. 0 ............................4.68
5VSB.............. 5............................. 5
5V .................0 ............................. 5
12V ...............0..............................12
20V............... 0...............................25


By the way, I have no red LED on the power supply board. You'll find this in the bottom left hand corner of the power supply board pic above. Another clue is that no pins of the PWM chip (IC8) have any voltages on it (nothing significant). NO VCC VOLTAGE

Dgtech 05-15-2011 10:28 AM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
OK.... an update to this...

After this was sitting for a while I got to power this set up and it still comes up intermittently. I had 12V on pin 13 of IC8 the PWM chip UNTIL the set went out and the LED (D13) came on. This LED has to be some kind of clue. This LED (bottom left hand corner of power supply board) stays off when the unit is working then comes on when the unit fails???

nfiniti9 05-15-2011 12:03 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
Did you check the transistors? Doesn't sound like it but didn't see you mention it. It could be an IC as they can have issues with being intermittent.

Dgtech 05-15-2011 12:22 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
I would love to find a schematic of this board but I never could find one. I'll keep searching components on this board.

netdent 05-15-2011 02:39 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
I repaired a tv with the same power supply, it was an acoustic solutions brand tv, the doide as mentioned earlier in the post was shorted, I replaced with a much larger 600v diode that I had already, set worked great for a few days but has now gone short also! the fitted diode was HER304, I replaced it with 6A4MIC which is rated at 600v, anyway I have ordered HER305 in the hope that the one I fitted was not upto the job? fingers crossed nothing else is messing the diode up!

Ronnie

Dgtech 05-15-2011 02:50 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
This one had an HER 304 in it. It tested fine but for the heck of it, I changed it out with another HER304. I'm running out of ideas. There has to be a reason why this board LED is on. By the way, I checked some other threads here and there was one mention of this LED blinking. This is not the case with this set as it is on steady. As I stated before, when this set is working, the LED is off. This must be some diagnostic LED that the service manual would explain probably - If there is one.

Dgtech 05-15-2011 03:24 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
After a long search for a service manual, I finally found one. Not the exact same unit but there are multiple units here with the same boards.

http://www.polaroidsupport.com/polaroid/en_us-sm.html

Too bad it has very little information. Nothing usable.

netdent 05-16-2011 02:12 AM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
When I get the new diode will report back what the led does in standby and power on to see if it helps you

cheers Ronnie

Dgtech 05-16-2011 02:17 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
Here is a video of what this set is doing. It is dark so you can see when this LED turns on.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DT3-XAJuOUg

Dgtech 05-16-2011 06:26 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dgtech (Post 165754)
Here is a video of what this set is doing. It is dark so you can see when this LED turns on.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DT3-XAJuOUg

.

netdent 05-17-2011 01:57 AM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dgtech (Post 165795)
.

I'm sure when mine worked the diode was lit! but will confirm when the new diode gets here, should be today

Ronnie

netdent 05-17-2011 04:12 AM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
Ok, got it up and running again! the led does not light at anytime, standby or on, hope that helps in some way

thanks Ronnie

Dgtech 05-17-2011 01:45 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
Yeah, that confirms that my set is screwed.:bash:

Firebirds71 06-09-2011 04:47 AM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dgtech (Post 165579)
This one had an HER 304 in it. It tested fine but for the heck of it, I changed it out with another HER304. I'm running out of ideas. There has to be a reason why this board LED is on. By the way, I checked some other threads here and there was one mention of this LED blinking. This is not the case with this set as it is on steady. As I stated before, when this set is working, the LED is off. This must be some diagnostic LED that the service manual would explain probably - If there is one.

Can you tell me which post you read about the LED blinking on the power supply?

asperfud 11-03-2011 10:04 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
DGTECH did you ever find a solution on this set? I have one with the same exact symptoms. Powers up for a few seconds, then the backlight goes off, and the red led on the supply comes on.

Thanks,

Dgtech 11-04-2011 03:38 AM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
No I did not. It's still sitting on the side of my shop. I was just about to jump back into this one now that some free time has become available. I just finished up a Samsung 40 inch.

Gagne1023 11-07-2011 07:04 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
Started back working on this and got a little bit further but stuck again in about the same spot you are... I eventually got my back light to turn on because I found a connection problem at the quick connect to the power board and to the back lights, it was damaged. Once it turned on for the first time it flashed then went black and the small LED began to blink. After messing with the connection some the back light would stay on completely...But once I got ready to put it back together checked it once more and the backlight flashed again then the LED started to blink. I decided to just by past the connector and solder the wire straight to the board. It still flashes but now the LED stays red... So I'm thinkin that the LED could be an indicator if there's a bad connection but I can't find one.. Hope that might help. Let me kno if you find the answer to the prob.

Dgtech 11-07-2011 07:12 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
Thanks for the info. Every little bit helps. That just gave me a clue of what to check next. It's gonna suck but I'm thinking that I need to check the connection at the lamps. Now that I recall, I remember hearing a small zap sound on power up every time. Maybe this is a little arching sound at the lamps. I dont know when I'll get around to checking this. I just got two more sets that I'm working on now. A westinghouse 32 and a vizio 42. I might go and pick up a polaroid flm 3201 tomorrow. They're droppin like flies.

Dgtech 11-07-2011 07:21 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dgtech (Post 165570)
I would love to find a schematic of this board but I never could find one. I'll keep searching components on this board.

I found some schematics and service manuals on this site:

http://www.polaroidsupport.com/polaroid/en_us-sm.html

I dont know how helpful they will be but thats all I could find.

asperfud 11-27-2011 05:16 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
Fixed mine. Replaced the three 10pf 3kv ceramic caps near the backlight connector. So far the set has been on and working for the last half hour, which is about 27 minutes longer than I have ever had that backlight stay on. Guess I should go buy a few of these and put them in the set instead of the ones I stole off of an old lcd monitor PS board.

FYI my set is an Element FLX-3210 with this board in it. Had the same backlight lights up for a minute or two, and then shut off leaving the red led on the PS board blinking problem.

Hope this helps.

djluis 02-02-2012 12:38 PM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
I have the same problem, replaced Power supply together with the main unit from shopjimmy.com and still with the same problem, so it looks like a problem with the backlights lamps, glad if I find the schematic of the power supply to modify it to put it to work.

djluis 02-20-2012 10:24 AM

Re: Poloroid TDA -03211C- - - -Power Board IPOS 150 Ver. 1.8
 
I fixed my unit power supply led blinking.
Removed lcd panel dsimount it completely carefully lot of screws to be removed,
Get into the lamps pull the lamps a little, and found arcing area on the board where one of the lamps is soldered, used a knife to remove carbonized area and cleaned totally, put some HV tape for insulation, mount everything back together with a lot of patience and get it to work perfectly.
hope this helps to other people.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.